Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2017, 05:23 AM
Annas's Avatar
Annas Annas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 9
Default PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Hallo.

have the same problem I read almost all post and tried something to fix current problem, but didn't work.

1. My computer : Macbook Pro, OSX 10.9.5 13-inch, Late 2011

Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core i5

With two memory slots 2GB, 2GB (4GB)

2. DAW : Pro Tools HD10


Problem is that I'm working on a project in witch i use most Dly, and revers

and when I start working in this project PT says : Physical RAM is running low for better performance install more RAM.

In Playback Engine it was on 512 mb Cache Size and I put it on 1GB, but problem isn't solved PT says the same every time I start working in the same project and this happens in only one project.

H/W Buffer Size : 512 Samples

Host Processors : 4 Processors

CPU Usage Limit : 85%



Seems like everything is ok in the Playback Engine, but it still didn't helped.

after I put it on 1GB Cache Size now PT says: Physical RAM is running low. for better performance, reduce the Disk Cache Size in the Playback Engine or install more RAM.

I have also another problem about CPU when the project is playing it stops and PT says: A CPU overload error occurred. If this happens often, try increasing the ''H/W Buffer Size" in the Playback Engine Dialog, or removing some plug-ins. (-6101)


I would like to solve this problem without removing some plug-ins cause they are not too much and it means that in another project if i'll start using this number of plug-ins I'll got the same as in this project.

Thank you very much for any help <3

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2017, 07:56 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annas View Post
after I put it on 1GB Cache Size now PT says: Physical RAM is running low. for better performance, reduce the Disk Cache Size in the Playback Engine or install more RAM.
After you did this 1 of your 4 gb of ram is used for the disk cache.
If you set it to "normal", all 4 gb's will be available for PT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2017, 08:06 AM
Annas's Avatar
Annas Annas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Thanks for answer :)
Well I tried that also, but didn't help so its seems like changing Cache Size doesn't changes that problem :/ in outputs are also everything ok. So can't find out how to fix it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2017, 10:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,913
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

You can fix it by installing more memory to the computer
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2017, 10:30 AM
Annas's Avatar
Annas Annas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Thanks for answer :)
will that fix also CPU overload problem?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2017, 09:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,913
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annas View Post
Thanks for answer :)
will that fix also CPU overload problem?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No. Memory is memory and CPU is CPU
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2017, 11:51 AM
Annas's Avatar
Annas Annas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

I'm about to fix overall problem, so it means that installing more memory will help only for physical RAM and About CPU will still have to think what to do.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2017, 02:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,913
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annas View Post
I'm about to fix overall problem, so it means that installing more memory will help only for physical RAM and About CPU will still have to think what to do.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Respectively, you can get better processor performance by upgrading the processor (or buying a new computer)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2017, 06:43 AM
Annas's Avatar
Annas Annas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Tbilisi
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Respectively, you can get better processor performance by upgrading the processor (or buying a new computer)


Somehow helpful answer, but not for this moment I just needed to save my project till i upgrade processor witch i don't know how to do or buying new computer. So I just exported all channels one by one and will bounce them also one by one and then in new session I'll import all of this audios I think and I hope It will help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2017, 07:10 AM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default Re: PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low

install more ram. 4GB is barely enough to run the OS.. and PT10 can only address 4GB of ram MAX anyways, since its not 64bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD 10 physical ram running low? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 16 02-23-2017 05:53 AM
Running 10HD and 11 HD together. SteveGarman macOS 4 06-17-2014 07:58 PM
New Install of 10.3.3: Physical RAM Running Low Immediately dougdude9 Windows 4 02-22-2013 11:26 PM
Physical RAM Running Low Fuzzyc Windows 7 02-18-2013 05:32 PM
Dual Boot 10.6 running 8HD & 10.7 running 10HD STL Audio macOS 3 04-14-2012 05:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com