Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:43 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

And don't forget, if you bite the bullet and upgrade to PT11HD from PT10+CPT at a cost of $999, you are also buying into a future in which every future upgrade will be much more expensive ... single version upgrades of PT HD software have typically been way more expensive than the equivalent non HD versions.

$299 PT10 to PT11, $599 PT10HD to PT11HD, and wasn't the PT9HD to PT10HD upgrade something like $1000.

That potential cost down the line for people wanting CPT functionality who don't have HD hardware is an ongoing showstopper, for me at least. I just can't see myself committing to that. $1-200 per year/two years to keep up to date I don't mind, but $999 now and potentially $600 per year/two years ... no way. Not with keeping all the other software updated too, and new computers from time to time (my unibody 17" mac book pro is 2009, and my 8 core nehalem mac pro is 2010 ... how much longer before they are no longer supported, or they fall over with age).

I've no doubt I'll upgrade to PT11, but unless there's been a huge PR cockup and the CPT situation is very different from what we're hearing (price and/or functionality wise), then it'll be plain vanilla PT11 for me and I'll have to learn to live without the CPT features that become HD only in PT11.

It's potentially by far the biggest kick in the gonads I've ever received from a software company, beating Avid's previous best efforts by a long long way.

Beats the still painful Steinberg kick when they crippled, then dropped Yamaha DSP Factory support while it was still a purchasable product, and after they had officially promised support was continuing, and the Cubase SX manuals continued to describe the functionality. Oh yes that still hurts, but the pain fades as there is no computer available today that can run the DSP Factory stuff. Except via a car boot sale ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:56 AM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gio104 View Post
I Feel Tricked, robbed....i bought the protools 10 upgrade on march 28....now you f&%$ AVID have the guts..to say only from april 01...the users who bought or upgrade have the free upgrade....if you dont extend or give me and the ones like me the upgrade...i wont put out a single penny on any of your products in the future.......and might join the big comunity of people who boicott against you....Respect people....
Man I feel for you but why the hell didn't you wait a while? Word on the street was PT11 was coming soon. I was really close to upgrading last month but decided to wait and see. I understand you must be feeling sick though
I know Avid have to have a cut off point but I think they could of looked after customers who purchased in the last month or so.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:22 AM
nicolevitche nicolevitche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

I'm in the same case, I bought an upgrade exactly one month ago from PT 8 to 10 for 300€ and now if I want PT11 I have to spend an other 300€. So upgrading my system from 8 to 11 will cost me 600€.
I'm not saying upgrades should be free, I'm saying that since going from 8 to 10 was 300€ and going from 8 to 11 is 400€, upgrading my system from 10 to 11 should cost me 100€, isn't it logical ?


So obviously I'm not going to die if I don't get PT11 but I do feel screwed over...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2013, 11:05 AM
dccarson dccarson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

I just bought PT10 April 1st and didn't get it installed until April 2nd. I am happy about PT11 but I am not happy i have to now pay another $300 on top of what it will take for aax plug-ins. I mean I could buy another program and come out a lot cheaper. I'm not happy about the cost for me but again, happy about PT11.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-08-2013, 11:17 AM
Fooks Fooks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterman
Posts: 172
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by L-Dogg View Post
Yeah...I feel the same. Got mine on Feb 27th. If I had had 10 and been using it for a year.....well, okay.....not a big deal. But a month and days?
Why not use it for a year then upgrade...the one consistent thing with the upgrade price is it is not for an introductory period. I don't know if you use it for a hobby or for making money, but really, if it is for hobby, are all those time saving features (obviously geared towards saving professionals time) worth the belly aching? If you make money with it...PT 10 is not all of a sudden obsolete, make money with it and save some of that dough for an upgrade in a year or 2. Or save a little more and upgrade to PT 12 when it comes out and be the first to have it. Don't be the first to clog up the DUC with complaints just cause you can't be the first child with a shiny new toy.
__________________
That is bunches of crunch!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:18 PM
L-Dogg L-Dogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 583
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooks View Post
Don't be the first to clog up the DUC with complaints just cause you can't be the first child with a shiny new toy.
Fooks.....come on mate! On one hand you offer a reasonable and balanced point of view......and on the other you make a snarky comment like that. I'm going to let it go other than to say....... I'll say what I want to, thank you very much mate! And if you have noticed, many others feel incredibly let down as well and have said as much.
__________________
MBPR i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB RAM,Yosemite|Mac Pro 2.66 Quad, 6GB RAM 10.6.8| Pro Tools 10 w/CPTK2|002R, Eleven Rack|Velvet|Spectrasonics Omnisphere, Trilian, Stylus RMX| Garritan Libraries-J&BB,Personal Orchestra4,Instant Orchestra| Sibelius 6| Reason 4| Drumcore3| EZ Drummer-Superior Drummer 2.0-Drumtracker|Izotope- RX2,Iris,Ozone 4| East West- Silk, RA, Gypsy, Fab Four, Voices of Passion, Symphonic Choirs, StormDrum2, Symphonic Orchestra Plat.Plus| VEPro|Symphobia
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:48 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post

I know folks still on 8, 7.x and all the way back to 6.4)
Wow six that's too far back that's ridiculous

I remember 6 -

I was totally unimpressed because you had to enter your EQ curves manually you didn't have the graphical representation of the curve - on a 001

But then again I didn't get on a forum and say come on avid I demand y'all guys are crazy and ridiculous either

However I was not very impressed With that version. I got 7.3 soon after that. And it was like I came into the modern era
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-09-2013, 02:11 AM
Draulym Draulym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bunbury West Oz
Posts: 217
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Still no track folders, or did I miss something in the presentation??
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:05 AM
Rick S Rick S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atascadero, CA USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools 11

Will PT10 open PT11 sessions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com