Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:16 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Hi everyone, i opened this forum to share some tricks for performance, and read some from other people that has the same system.

Here is my system:
GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0)
i7 950 quad
16 gb ram kingston 1600
win 7 pro
magma chasis 13 with pcie host card
1 core hd card pci
1 accel card pci
1 process card pci
protools hd 10 10.1.2
uad 2 solo card
waves platinum, ssl,
mcDSP
SSlate mastering,
Sonnox Reverb, eq w/GML, Inflator, Trans,
melodyne editor

Last edited by Luis Carrillo; 05-14-2012 at 02:23 PM. Reason: B more specific
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:19 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Here is one that may help some one, setting up the cores for protools as low as you can will leave more process to the plug ins to work better, sounds not right but in my experience my system works a lot better with 2 cores (85%) for protools than increasing them (4 cores or more).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2012, 02:26 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Here is Another:
If for some reason i have to insert a RTAS plug ins where i already have TDM plug ins, ether change the TDM to RTAS or Viceversa. but leave on the line just one kind.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2012, 03:03 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,546
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Carrillo View Post
Here is one that may help some one, setting up the cores for protools as low as you can will leave more process to the plug ins to work better, sounds not right but in my experience my system works a lot better with 2 cores (85%) for protools than increasing them (4 cores or more).
This is pretty generalized. Can you expand on this with the "why" and more details. Many will disagree with this one.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2012, 03:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Since you have a mobo that can run triple-channel RAM, you should try removing 1 stick(from the blue slot) and running 3x4 in triple channel mode. It will likely give you better performance than 16GB of RAM(that's NOT running properly). Then retest your core theory(how many cores give the best result). In general, 1 less than the total number is the "happy" spot(for most users). For me, it has always been all cores, but some VI plugins seem to steer it otherwise. AFAIK, the X58 motherboards are the only ones that offer triple-channel, so start there Other motherboards, check your manual.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2012, 04:24 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Since you have a mobo that can run triple-channel RAM, you should try removing 1 stick(from the blue slot) and running 3x4 in triple channel mode. It will likely give you better performance than 16GB of RAM(that's NOT running properly). Then retest your core theory(how many cores give the best result). In general, 1 less than the total number is the "happy" spot(for most users). For me, it has always been all cores, but some VI plugins seem to steer it otherwise. AFAIK, the X58 motherboards are the only ones that offer triple-channel, so start there Other motherboards, check your manual.
Thank you for replying, now i thought the same thing before untill i started having problems with two different plug ins, UAD-2 and Native Instruments, and i ask both of the companies about the problems, (insuficient CPU, increase buffer size or reduce RTAS plug ins ETC) and both of the companies say that i have to leave some power for the plug ins, NI have a menu where you select how many cores you can dedicate to your instruments (kontakt Strings pro) and actually how much memory and also i have to move that to get the best performance.
For UAD, all they said it that try to decrease the number of cores, starting with 1, then increase it until the problem starts, and when i did that, the problem started at 4 cores, so i ended up using 2 cores and the problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2012, 04:29 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Since you have a mobo that can run triple-channel RAM, you should try removing 1 stick(from the blue slot) and running 3x4 in triple channel mode. It will likely give you better performance than 16GB of RAM(that's NOT running properly). Then retest your core theory(how many cores give the best result). In general, 1 less than the total number is the "happy" spot(for most users). For me, it has always been all cores, but some VI plugins seem to steer it otherwise. AFAIK, the X58 motherboards are the only ones that offer triple-channel, so start there Other motherboards, check your manual.
I got the taking out i memory from the blue slot (thats very Interesting), but "running 3x4 in triple channel mode." i didnt get that. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2012, 04:35 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Also im trying again 7 cores 85%(for me -1 total cores)at 512 buffer size, i'll let you know how it worked. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:04 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

BY CELEMONY MELODYNE
What is the correct setting of processing threads (or RTAS processors, respectively)?
In some DAWs, you can optionally set the maximum number of processing threads (in Pro Tools this is called RTAS processors or Host Processors; Processing Threads in Logic; CPU Cores in Studio One). If your DAW regularly comes up with error messages, try "reducing the number of threads".
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2012, 04:27 PM
Luis Carrillo Luis Carrillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Default Re: Share some tricks i7 750, 760, 780

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Go here for i7 performance setup optimizations. This road has long since been paved. Just follow the footsteps.

Shane
thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Share some tips and tricks for mixing TV! arvid.lind Post - Surround - Video 15 07-13-2006 08:44 PM
any drum edit tricks to share? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-24-2004 02:58 PM
Share your tricks on Comping KingFish Tips & Tricks 5 02-01-2004 01:44 PM
low end tricks troswalt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-29-2003 02:27 PM
Mix Tricks pookadilly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-08-2003 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com