Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2009, 06:37 PM
jebwick jebwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10
Question Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Can you use Reaper with Pro Tools 8 if using ReWire?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2009, 01:55 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebwick View Post
Can you use Reaper with Pro Tools 8 if using ReWire?
Yes.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2009, 02:33 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Yes.

Shane

A quick ? Shane... Did you ever do up an interface for Reaper that was similar to using PT? If so, care to steer a fellow there?

Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2009, 07:05 AM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
A quick ? Shane... Did you ever do up an interface for Reaper that was similar to using PT? If so, care to steer a fellow there?

Peace!
Here's one that you can try...

http://stash.reaper.fm/v/3110/Robert...R.ReaperKeyMap
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2009, 07:37 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottedog View Post

Thanks Scott... I actually had d/l'ed that one and tried it, but it wasn't quite what I thought it would be.. I reckon I'll just have to break down and learn Reaper.

Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2009, 09:13 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,922
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
I reckon I'll just have to break down and learn Reaper.

Peace!
That's the ugly reality I'm dealing with. Learning a new DAW.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2009, 09:39 PM
scottedog scottedog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Thanks Scott... I actually had d/l'ed that one and tried it, but it wasn't quite what I thought it would be.. I reckon I'll just have to break down and learn Reaper.

Peace!
No problem. I actually tweaked this one a bit more to my liking. I think Romi did a decent job though.
I think editing in Reaper can be quite similar to PT if you set up the keymap properly (maybe even better?). I'm sure Shane's map will make it very easy for Toolers to switch over.
...and he's such a generous guy that's MORE than willing to share!
__________________
Scott.

ScottedogStudios on ReverbNation
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:25 PM
RoMi RoMi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 160
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottedog View Post

This REAPER key map I created (for myself) several months ago is just a set of basic Pro Tools key shortcuts, mostly from the "Commands Keyboard Focus Mode" - one-key-stroke commands. As I said on the REAPER forum, it is a good start point for anyone who would like to transition from PT or use both DAWs. After that, anyone can create anything according to ones needs.

I am using a mixture of PT mostly "focus mode" shortcuts, my own "Actions" based on my work flow and the rest is just the original REAPER key map. I do not intend to copy the whole PT key map into REAPER. It doesn't make sense. REAPER has its own features that are impossible to recall in PT (and vice versa).


Creating "Actions" (macros) in REAPER is easy and... fun, when you see everything working the way you want.

I absolutely agree with Shane's "main list" of REAPER's advantages.
I started the REAPER adventure after PT8's disappointment (CPU Usage issues). First in ReWire mode.
Now, 95% of my work is done in REAPER, only.
Installs in seconds; no junk in the registry!; starts up in seconds; flexible UI (mine is totally different then the default); flexible keymap (mine - very much different than the default); multi-audio-format in the same session; several projects open (in tabs) in one session (allowing comparison of several different mixes or copying and pasting fragments of different projects without endlessly closing and opening them); VST(i) world - wide open !; rendering/boucing (MIDI-audio, audio-audio in almost any possible format); routing - yeah, Shane, you're right: insanely simple and flexible !; a track is a track - only the user decides what's gonna be on it: MIDI, audio (of any kind), VI's, EFX, whatever... you can mix it up together - the track stays the same; etc, etc, etc...

... Just my 2 cents



__________________
Robert Millord

Intel quad Q6600, ASUS P5K DeLuxe WiFi, Radeon HD Gfx cards, 3 LCD monitors, Focusrite Saffire PRO 24 DSP, Win 7x64, REAPER 64bit, Wavelab.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:12 PM
RoMi RoMi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 160
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoMi View Post
This REAPER key map I created (for myself) several months ago is just a set of basic Pro Tools key shortcuts, mostly from the "Commands Keyboard Focus Mode" - one-key-stroke commands. As I said on the REAPER forum, it is a good start point for anyone who would like to transition from PT or use both DAWs. After that, anyone can create anything according to ones needs.

I am using a mixture of PT mostly "focus mode" shortcuts, my own "Actions" based on my work flow and the rest is just the original REAPER key map. I do not intend to copy the whole PT key map into REAPER. It doesn't make sense. REAPER has its own features that are impossible to recall in PT (and vice versa).


Creating "Actions" (macros) in REAPER is easy and... fun, when you see everything working the way you want.

I absolutely agree with Shane's "main list" of REAPER's advantages.
I started the REAPER adventure after PT8's disappointment (CPU Usage issues). First in ReWire mode.
Now, 95% of my work is done in REAPER, only.
Installs in seconds; no junk in the registry!; starts up in seconds; flexible UI (mine is totally different then the default); flexible keymap (mine - very much different than the default); multi-audio-format in the same session; several projects open (in tabs) in one session (allowing comparison of several different mixes or copying and pasting fragments of different projects without endlessly closing and opening them); VST(i) world - wide open !; rendering/boucing (MIDI-audio, audio-audio in almost any possible format); routing - yeah, Shane, you're right: insanely simple and flexible !; a track is a track - only the user decides what's gonna be on it: MIDI, audio (of any kind), VI's, EFX, whatever... you can mix it up together - the track stays the same; etc, etc, etc...

... Just my 2 cents



This is the actual zip file after I corrected it on Reaper forum:
http://stash.reaper.fm/v/3113/Robert...n%20REAPER.zip
__________________
Robert Millord

Intel quad Q6600, ASUS P5K DeLuxe WiFi, Radeon HD Gfx cards, 3 LCD monitors, Focusrite Saffire PRO 24 DSP, Win 7x64, REAPER 64bit, Wavelab.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2009, 08:02 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Reaper and Pro Tools 8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
A quick ? Shane... Did you ever do up an interface for Reaper that was similar to using PT? If so, care to steer a fellow there?

Peace!
Half done. Porting over most of the shortcuts so I could work fluently in both apps was first priority.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools and Reaper compatibility nairobijones General Discussion 1 08-23-2010 08:22 AM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 07:51 AM
Pro Tools key shortcuts for REAPER RoMi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-26-2010 02:52 PM
I love pro reaper tools Jenk2k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 03-27-2010 06:25 AM
Pro Tools to Reaper... Need some help! DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 42 03-15-2010 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com