Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:28 AM
vivaknievel vivaknievel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 17
Default Suddenly No Sound Output/Input

Hello, there...

I was recording yesterday and everything was 100% fine. I went to a show and came back a few hours later, and found that PT would no longer do playback. It's possible that my boyfriend changed a setting while bringing up another screen, but he wouldn't be able to tell me what he did, even if so. I'm hoping someone out there might have some suggestions for things I might not have thought to try already.


1. I can hear my microphone through the MBox headphones, and it shows on the MBox LED, but it isn't reading on the Edit window fader. PT will record, but since no signal is actually coming in, it records nothing. I've already checked I/O settings, volume, mutes, routing, even rebooted, trashed preferences, etc.

2. All previously recorded tracks also show up in the fader, but I now can't hear playback.

3. Bounces of the audio work, but I just can't hear them while bouncing.



Using:

Pro Tools LE 6.9
Mac OS X 10.3.9
Mac G4 Dual
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2007, 09:17 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: Suddenly No Sound Output/Input

I would try a new admin account and see if things are working there.

Also, you may want to download and install the v22 firmware, in case it's a firmware corruption causing the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2007, 02:43 PM
vivaknievel vivaknievel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Suddenly No Sound Output/Input

Thank you for your fast reply.

None of those things worked for me, but the good news is that in trying those, I figured out what was going on. All I needed to do was shut down Pro Tools, unplug the MBox from the computer itself, plug it back in and restart PT! I guess we sometimes overlook the tiniest of things when we're in a panic.

In case anyone in the future comes looking for a similar problem... earlier in the day, I now recall that I accidentally unplugged the MBox from the back of the unit while I was in the middle of a session. I got the message that the MBox was disconnected, so I plugged it in and it was fine. Later, I recall getting a message saying something about the timecode/clock being out of sync, and I didn't know what it was in regards to... but I restarted Pro Tools and it was fine. I recorded, edited, mixed, etc and saved my session before I left.

But now I see that it really needed to be reset after that error by unplugging the MBox from the computer altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2007, 03:14 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: Suddenly No Sound Output/Input

Ah, yes, that would make sense. Glad it was an easy fix!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIs - Output suddenly quits Shanegrla Virtual Instruments 13 02-22-2012 07:11 PM
003 rack suddenly no s/pdif output! almathecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-10-2009 03:22 PM
No Audio Input or Output Suddenly ansanity 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-23-2008 01:12 PM
PT 7.3/Mbox Pro 2 Sound Input/Output Issues Joker4432 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-23-2007 08:20 AM
Trouble with input and output sound Bfly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-27-2005 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com