Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2009, 02:31 PM
SteveGam SteveGam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 134
Default Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Got a new laptop with Win 7. Need to get my mbox2 running on it for SMAART use, protools will not be installed on this machine. Installed the 7.4 standalone drivers but no go. Even tried the "run as admin" trick but no sound.

The Mbox seems to be running OK, all the lights and switches work, +48 works, sound to headphones works... but nothing shows up in the win 7 sound control panel or in SMAART's audio I/O device selector.

any ideas?

thanks,

Steve
__________________
Working for the preservation of quality live sound.... One show at a time!

Work
Twin S6L's
PM-10
Profile, D-Show
3 Midas Heritage's and 5 M32's
Several other analog and digital consoles
d&b J Systems
L'Acoustics V-Dosc systems

Home: Compaq Z800
Dual XEON hexes
48G Ram
Windows 10
Midas M32 and XL48
Genelec 8050's with Genny sub
Genelec 8030's
JBL L96 & LSR32
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2009, 02:43 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Just like there wasn't (isn't) a "standalone" Vista driver, there also isn't a "standalone" W7 driver. At least not yet.
That's actually a Pro Tools interface, and wasn't intended to be a "soundcard" per se.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2009, 03:14 PM
SteveGam SteveGam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Not using it as a soundcard, Just need working asio drivers to use the preamp as I have been for 3 years with XP.
__________________
Working for the preservation of quality live sound.... One show at a time!

Work
Twin S6L's
PM-10
Profile, D-Show
3 Midas Heritage's and 5 M32's
Several other analog and digital consoles
d&b J Systems
L'Acoustics V-Dosc systems

Home: Compaq Z800
Dual XEON hexes
48G Ram
Windows 10
Midas M32 and XL48
Genelec 8050's with Genny sub
Genelec 8030's
JBL L96 & LSR32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2009, 03:24 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveGam View Post
Got a new laptop with Win 7. Need to get my mbox2 running on it for SMAART use, protools will not be installed on this machine. Installed the 7.4 standalone drivers but no go. Even tried the "run as admin" trick but no sound.

The Mbox seems to be running OK, all the lights and switches work, +48 works, sound to headphones works... but nothing shows up in the win 7 sound control panel or in SMAART's audio I/O device selector.

any ideas?

thanks,

Steve
2 choices...

1) install PTLE and then 'only' remove the PTLE and leave the drivers installed

2) install the 7.4 drivers again...use 'run as admin' and 'Vista SP2' mode

*** use this in step 1 too....use 'run as admin' and 'Vista SP2' mode
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:04 PM
uz3r uz3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Are you using Win 7 32 or 64bit?

I have not been able to get my USB Mbox2/PTLE7.4 working on Win7 64, using run as admin or vista SP2 compatability mode didnt help. Digi dont support Win 7 yet so good luck, you'll need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2009, 07:26 PM
SteveGam SteveGam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers

Thanks for the tip Mykhal C. Installed PT8, Mbox2 asio now works like a charm.. Even works as a soundcard if thats what your after. My SMAART system is up and running in win7. Only a couple apps left to load and all will be great!!

Steve

BTW, win7 rocks with speed. No blue screens, network stuff is a bit strange due to increased security.
__________________
Working for the preservation of quality live sound.... One show at a time!

Work
Twin S6L's
PM-10
Profile, D-Show
3 Midas Heritage's and 5 M32's
Several other analog and digital consoles
d&b J Systems
L'Acoustics V-Dosc systems

Home: Compaq Z800
Dual XEON hexes
48G Ram
Windows 10
Midas M32 and XL48
Genelec 8050's with Genny sub
Genelec 8030's
JBL L96 & LSR32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mBox 2 Standalone Drivers for XP pro larryloo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 03-01-2012 08:50 PM
Mbox 2 standalone drivers Venta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-19-2010 07:20 AM
Standalone CoreAudio drivers 8.04 ??? DuetLooser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-11-2010 06:38 AM
Standalone Mbox2 mini Vista drivers Martinus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-12-2009 11:28 AM
Digi 001 standalone drivers? apetrocelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-03-2003 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com