Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2002, 10:31 AM
Blair Blair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Default Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

Hi everyone! I just recently purchased a new G4 iMac 800 with 768megs of ram and a 60 gig hard drive. I want to record guitar, vocals, and do some midi sequencing. The Mbox looks like it is just what I need, and is also a good price for me. I was wondering if this set up would be effecient for me? I also would like to use some softsynths and plug ins also.
Another question I had was how hard is pro tools LE to learn how to use? The only thing I have sequenced with is a 16 step XOX sequencer. Whats the manual for LE like? Easy to understand, or like Roland manuals? Thanks for your time everyone.
Blair
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2002, 11:18 AM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

with an iMAc, its the way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2002, 11:03 PM
Blair Blair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

Can anyone tell me what the learning curve for pro tools LE is like? I had a look at cubase, and that seemed like a lot. I plan on mastering it eventulally, but I want to be able to start doing some basic stuff soon. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2002, 11:23 PM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

CUbase is a nightmare. Pro tools is easy. Its deep, and you are always learning things. However, with pro tools, you can start multitracking in as fast as you can read.

READ THE MANUAL!

Many folks blow it off, and never learn.
You should be up and running in matter of an hour or so.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2002, 11:26 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

There are a few quicktime tutorials here on digidesign's site:

http://www.digidesign.com/products/mbox/qt_tou r/

and also a few demo sessions come with PTLE that are helpful.

Also, if you're planning on doing MIDI with an external keyboard/sound source, you'll need to pick up some kind of USB MIDI interface as well. Search this forum, and you'll find lots of suggestions on what interfaces others are using.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2002, 02:03 AM
Blair Blair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

Thanks for all the input guys! I already have a midisport 2X2 by midiman. So I need to buy my Mbox and a condenser mike next. Then I should be on my way. I'm really excited about pro tools, everyone I know says it is the gretest thing for a home studio. I'll probably be hanging around here a lot in abuout two months or so when I can afford the Mbox.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2002, 06:58 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

Blair-
If you can split with $405, get a Rode NTK through BPM express in Colorado.
They ship 2 day FexEx free; It's the best mic you can get for that kind of money- you'll be able to skip the outboard processor stuff and wind up with vocals that are delicious.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:38 PM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Will the Mbox and Pro Tools LE be good for me?

My two cents: I found the learning curve on ProTools to be pretty steep and I know I'm not alone--initially the wonderful flexibility and scope of options and parameters is overwhelming--but once I got the basics down and could actually create and produce a session, it became very satisfying. (I originally learning digital editing on a different system (The Audicy), so maybe part of my problem was conceptualizing how to do things a totally different way.) What worked for me was to read the manual enough to run some basic sessions, then use ProTools for awhile, then go back in a few weeks and read the manual again to pick up things I couldn't quite see the usefulness of the first time around.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Mic for MBox??? anyone BxThree1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-21-2005 02:08 PM
How good is the MBox, really? matts9383 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-30-2004 04:59 PM
MBOX Good for Nothing! jdigital 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 09-05-2004 03:07 PM
WHATS A GOOD FIREWIRE DRIVE FOR PRO TOOLS LE/MBOX? Blurdrcarl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-24-2004 10:12 AM
Is this mic too good for MBox.... Valentino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-26-2004 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com