Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-20-2018, 08:39 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

It’s easy, just import a bit at a time, and save as you go.

Just select everything you want to copy, playlists, plugin settings etc and select say 5 tracks, pick new track and it will be done. If it imports them ok, save and then import again but this time another 5 tracks

Rinse and repeat


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:11 AM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Ok Raoul23, I will do my best. Thanks!
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-20-2018, 10:02 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
No I have never tried importing session data into a new session. But it kind of looks like I might have to learn how to do that.

I'm no genius when it comes to computers so everyday presents a new challenge. I wish that it could be easier. Sort of takes all the fun out of it.
https://youtu.be/HL-YAxHcfkI
Here's how but first take a look into your session folder and see if there's a folder named Session File Backups, organize the content by date and open the newest one, that could save 95% of your work if not all.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-20-2018, 10:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,778
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
Yeah I will try moving it to the SSD if nothing else works but I was told before that it's better to have the sound files and PT on separate drives.

Maybe I'll need to invest in another SSD for my sound files?

I was hoping that the 1 TB spinner drive would be good enough.
I'm NOT saying to do this with all your sessions - just the problem one. And move it - don't copy it. That way you won't have the session on the ssd maybe trying to reference the one on the spinner. Remember that this is a test to see where the problem lies.

Sometimes one has to become quite computer literate and take on troubleshooting. Think about it this way - you may well be able to help someone in the future that has or is going through a problem you've had and solved.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:43 AM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

amagras, thanks for that link.

BTW I already tried numerous times to go into the Session Files Backup folder and try to open the last three most recent backups of this session and all of them just stalled and would just hang there and do nothing once it came around to opening the last track or two.

musicman961, I will try to keep my cool and get this thing sorted out. If I ever get to the point where I do know something that could end up helping somebody even more green than me I will definitely speak up.
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:55 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,327
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
I already tried numerous times to go into the Session Files Backup folder and try to open the last three most recent backups of this session and all of them just stalled and would just hang there and do nothing once it came around to opening the last track or two.
That sounds like a faulty plugin, did you try opening the session file with shift?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-20-2018, 12:07 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

No I haven't had a chance to try anything yet, I am still at work but will tackle this tonight when I get home.
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-20-2018, 12:28 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

I wonder if I would have frozen some of my tracks would that have lessened the chances of this locking up when trying to restore session tracks?
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-20-2018, 01:53 PM
Burstbucker Burstbucker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Just got home and this time I decided to plug my ilok into a different port and would you believe the thing loaded right up!

I'll have to try the original port next time to see if the problem recourse.

Weird!

But am I ever relieved that I got everything back up. Yay!
__________________
Dell i7-6700k @4.00 GHz 64-bits with 24 GB RAM, Windows 10, Roland Duo-Capture EX, Pro Tools 12.7.1

Crucial MX300 525GB SATA 2.5 inch
SATA III SSD

1 TB spinner drive 7200 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-20-2018, 01:55 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: Put in a bunch of hours last night on a session and now it won't open!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burstbucker View Post
I have earlier versions of this session from a week ago that open up just fine, the same plug-ins and everything but over the last few days I have added a few more tracks with extra automation, etc..... And before I saved this session last night I played it back many times over and it worked perfectly.

I'm going to try plugging my iLok into a different port and if that doesn't work I will try opening the session with the plug-ins disabled.

I hope I can retrieve what I did last night, I could live without this kind of hassle really.
A tip I always tell people Session BU files set to max 999. And save every 3 minutes. That has saved me a few times and also I friend in Germany who did not even understand how that worked. He was so relieved. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.10 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing session data adds a bunch of automation points! DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 13 03-11-2013 09:45 AM
PT7 HD3 - Delay before Playback Starts - after session open for a few hours warrickmarais Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 01-14-2009 03:55 PM
OS X 10.4.4 .PTLE quit in my session last night. Ty Ford 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-09-2006 01:12 PM
when i open pt a bunch of expired windows appear eddybertrand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-29-2001 01:44 AM
late night session in progress please help tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-13-1999 10:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com