Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2014, 03:44 AM
dmitri85 dmitri85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: israel
Posts: 2
Default edit window not showing clip on a meters

hi

I just installed my new pro tools 11 and I it not show me the clip on a channel meters on the edit window (the mix window shows). no matter what kind of meter I use.

what should I do?

TNX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2014, 02:59 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Are you saying that the meters in the Edit window don't show clip indicators?

I never noticed before... But I just checked, and I get the same thing on PT HD 11.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2014, 04:13 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

They don't work like they used to.
From the PT11.0 What's New.


"Audio Track Clip Indicators"
Audio track clip indicators display red under the
following circumstances:
• When an audio track is record enabled or set to
input monitoring and the input assignment is set
to a physical input signal that exceeds 0 dBFS
causing clipping at the converters.
• When an audio track is recording to a fixed-point
bit-depth (16- or 24-bit) and the audio written to
disk exceeds 0 dBFS causing clipping in the file."
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2014, 04:15 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Still running 11.0.2 on Arsenio, definitely shows clip in Edit window meters. I'll check the other system tomorrow.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2014, 04:45 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave911 View Post
They don't work like they used to.
From the PT11.0 What's New.
I think the bit you pasted was explaining the difference between red and orange clip indicators. That doesn't account for the fact that a track will show clipping in the Mix window, but not the Edit window.
Attached Images
File Type: png clipnoclip.PNG (36.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2014, 06:28 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Right, here is a thread from a while back on the same problem.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=345457
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2014, 07:56 PM
syra syra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 368
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Any further info on this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2014, 01:38 PM
Keeron Keeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 74
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Hi,

I'm having the same issue on PT 11.2.1 on Mac OSX 10.8.5

Peak clip LED shows up on MIX window track, but not on EDIT window.

Really messes me up...is there a fix/solution?

Cheers,
Keeron
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2014, 03:41 PM
eledu eledu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 147
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Same here. No clip indicator at the Edit window… pretty big f*****ng annoying!
__________________
.eledu.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2014, 04:03 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: edit window not showing clip on a meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by eledu View Post
Same here. No clip indicator at the Edit window… pretty big f*****ng annoying!
They turn yellow instead, no. Are you not seeing this?

This is by design because clipping isn't actually occurring because you're in a 32bit float environment. Red clipping indicators only occur when the signal's destination is a 24bit output and the signal will actually clip.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 Edit window meters not staying Ienjoyaudio Pro Tools 11 3 08-12-2015 01:04 AM
Clip indicators in edit window P_J Pro Tools 11 4 10-17-2013 06:40 PM
Meters in sends in EDIT Window are not coming up propower macOS 3 11-08-2012 11:28 AM
show clip name in edit window browniespeaks Windows 1 05-15-2012 10:36 AM
Tracks Showing in Mix window but not Edit window midi sordino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-23-2010 10:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com