Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:20 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default ilok2 issue

I upgraded to Protools 10.3.1 and my new ilok2 just started blinking and I cannot open Protools anymore. I have searched the internet and found that there is a problem with those iloks. I was forced to return to Logic to continue making my music. Protools is a very good product but this ilok issue could be a nail in it's coffin. That's my 0.2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2012, 01:36 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: ilok2 issue

Mine shots down all the time and you have to remove and put it back and it works again - totally annoying!!!

I've run PT since the 90ths and iLok since they came out, never experienced anything like this before. Is this some kind of software issue?
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:38 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ilok2 issue

This is a very serious issue. It seems to have reached epidemic proportions.
Those new iloks appears to be seriously flawed. Avid has to take note. One can do without some plugins that requires the ilok but Protools is a MAJOR
sequencer and should not be held to ransom. I have Logic Pro 9, Sonar X1 and Proptools 10.3. Imagine I chose to go deeper into Protools doing all the
Macprovideo tutotials and then this happens. All my projects are at a standstill. I am not paying for any ZDT. I don't trust those iloks.:eek :
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:42 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ilok2 issue

Mine just shot down without warning in the presence of a client. He asked me if I had Logic and why I am not using it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2012, 07:53 AM
Zuzudaddy Zuzudaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Elizabethton
Posts: 22
Default Re: ilok2 issue

Hello,

Maybe you know this, but if your ports are USB3 ilok2 is not compatable. This is the only thing I can think of. I have ilok 2 and protools 10.3.1 running on HP latop and an Alienware Aurora 3 with no problems so far......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2012, 08:33 AM
dissensus's Avatar
dissensus dissensus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: europe
Posts: 28
Default Re: ilok2 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuzudaddy View Post
Hello,

Maybe you know this, but if your ports are USB3 ilok2 is not compatable. This is the only thing I can think of. I have ilok 2 and protools 10.3.1 running on HP latop and an Alienware Aurora 3 with no problems so far......
ilok 2 and 1 are fully compatible with usb3 ports, at least on my mac.
no problem here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2012, 09:11 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Angry Re: ilok2 issue

Go to the gearslutz forum and you would see some posts there.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2012, 10:16 AM
Zuzudaddy Zuzudaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Elizabethton
Posts: 22
Default Re: ilok2 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by dissensus View Post
ilok 2 and 1 are fully compatible with usb3 ports, at least on my mac.
no problem here.
Here is a quote from the windows installation notes from avid :

"Pro Tools does not recognize iLok connected to USB3 ports (PTSW-158204)
Texas Instruments USB3 controllers are currently incompatible with iLok generation 1 & 2 USB dongles. iLok dongles connected to a
Texas Instruments USB3 controller will not be recognized by Pro Tools or the iLok.com web site. Connect any iLok dongles to USB2
ports instead."

This issue however is not in the MAC notes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:59 PM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ilok2 issue

I am using an Intel i5 dual core Macbook Pro. The blue light on the ilok2 just keeps blinking away. This ilok is just one month old.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2012, 02:17 PM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ilok2 issue

This is unbearable. All over the internet are issues with those ilok2. I have been going from forum to forum and is the same problem. This is real frustrating. I have an old ilok that I never had a problem with. I transferred the licenses to the new one. Now I regret. I have to look for a studio to convert my Protools projects to audio so that I can continue working in Logic Pro. What is Avid saying about this. They just cant turn a blind eye.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok2 issues- help! ysound Pro Tools 11 14 02-17-2014 12:50 PM
Can not download Pro Tools 11 license to my iLok2 -incomplete license surrender issue StereoZzilla Pro Tools 11 10 01-05-2014 12:11 AM
iLok2 for Pro Tools 10? Why?? Lehrman Pro Tools 10 12 06-19-2013 09:47 PM
ilok2 with PT 10 and plugins abre Buy & Sell 1 11-11-2012 04:40 PM
Slate VCC and ilok2 MikeLip Windows 30 04-01-2011 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com