Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:36 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default OMNI physical I/O question (inserts)

Maybe somebody can confirm this for me.

I have an Omni and am trying to get my head around the monitor section and the way it affects being able to use the other outputs. What I would like to do is have a 5.1 monitor output, BUT I also want 2 channels to be assigned to hardware inserts to send my recorded tracks and return them in the normal way. It seems that with the 5.1 monitor enabled, I cannot use the 4 physical analog outputs as insert sends. The other thing I discovered is that if you have a monitor path of any width, you cannot move it around from, say, channels 3-8, leaving channels 1-2 free.

So how can I have 2 channels set up for hardware inserts? I can think of two ways, but I don't have the unit with me now so I can't fiddle with it at the moment:

1. Disable monitoring altogether. I believe I can set the MAIN and ALT monitor paths each to "none". If I do this, does the I/O act like a normal Pro Tools interface? I figure if this is the case, I can assign my 5.1 out to 3-8 and set up hardware inserts for 1-2.

2. I had this thought just now: In the HARDWARE window, you have the MAIN tab. Can I assign the physical inputs to any pair I like? In other words, the thing that's causing me from having an insert on 7-8 is that he OMNI only has 4 analog inputs, called Analog 1-4. In the MAIN tab, can I assign Analog inputs 3-4 to the fourth pair of input registers?

Check out this screenshot (I'm borrowing it from some threat at Gearslutz—only one I could find on Google Images):



See how on the INPUT side, there are 4 pairs (inputs 7-8 are assigned to ADAT 1-2)? Can I assign 7-8 to "Analog 3-4" so that I can make an insert by using Analog 7-8 to go out to my gear and back in with Analog 3-4? See what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2011, 01:51 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default

Did I make this too hard to understand?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2011, 04:10 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: OMNI physical I/O question (inserts)

How about setting up a 7.1 output monitor path and then in your I/O split them into a 5.1 and a stereo pair?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2011, 04:35 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default

I don't think it works that way. Monitor paths can't share!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:41 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: OMNI physical I/O question (inserts)

OK, sad that I had to answer my own question, but yes, you can make inserts in the I/O Setup on 7-8 by assigning physical inputs Analog 3-4 to PT channels 7-8 and it works while using a 5.1 monitor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMNI inserts only for mic pre , or used as master buss inserts as well Weird Audio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-14-2012 10:27 PM
Omni question Craig F Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-30-2012 01:39 PM
Compressor with Omni - Inserts or Patchbay? Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-28-2011 12:09 PM
D-Show Physical Configuration Question/Poll apco25guy VENUE Live Sound Systems 8 09-10-2009 10:33 AM
Delay in physical inserts on Digi001? zboy2854 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-19-2001 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com