Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2011, 12:17 PM
Cary_Clark Cary_Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default HD Omni configuration

Hey guys,

I am considering the purchase of some new gear and had a couple quick tech questions. With the HD Omni can I run 16 channels of AES (optically) in and 8 channels of analog out symiltaniously? The Omni has the connections to do so but the user manual makes it look as though it is a maximum 8in/8out unit. Is it possible to configure it for 16in(AES Optical) and 8out (analog)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:45 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: HD Omni configuration

You cannot mean "AES, optically" as AES/EBU doesn't run on anything but 110 ohm XLR-terminated cable.

You can run 8 in and out simultaneously with an OMNI, plus a dedicated stereo cue mix. For anything more, you'll be better served with an HD I/O 16-channel digital option.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:54 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: HD Omni configuration

Correct. It's a total of 8 in, 8 out, regardless of if it's analog or digital. Plus the hardwired headphone cue mix out (stereo).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:50 PM
Cary_Clark Cary_Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: HD Omni configuration

Thanks guys. Yeah I ment optical input not AES I get my digital signals crossed every now and then.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:54 PM
Cary_Clark Cary_Clark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: HD Omni configuration

The Omni does allow for 8x2 Optical in though correct? But if I configure this way I will loose my 8 analog outs?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2011, 06:31 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: HD Omni configuration

Actually it's 8 optical in, period. The second optical port is for SMUX, which allows you to send sample rates greater than 48K by sending 4 to each optical port.

But no matter what, you only get 8 ins and 8 outs. You can mix and match analog and digital, but you can only use a total of 8 ins/outs.
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni vs HD 8x8x8 io and Omni Pre's Southsidemusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 03-27-2013 02:00 AM
OMNI Fried? Calling Omni Members - Check High Samplerates KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-03-2011 10:19 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 06:42 AM
PC Configuration milesyoung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-09-2002 08:14 PM
PC Configuration ChrisMc73 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-14-2001 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com