Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:02 PM
osuguy2102 osuguy2102 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4
Default Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Hey all,
I just bought a new MacBook Pro (see specs below) and then bought the Avid M-Audio Recording Studio with ProTools SE. I installed like was requested and everytime I try to playback one of the demo songs, or try to record my own I receive "Access Violation has Occured" (it seems a lot of people get this error). The program does not crash, it just won't let me playback or record because of this. I'm not really sure what to do since both my MacBook Pro and this ProTools SE are brand new. I've tried a few of the things I've read on this forum but still no luck. I've also installed and reinstalled, uninstalled, etc...

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!


Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,1
Processor Name: Intel Core i5
Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:07 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

There are newer drivers available for download than those on the Pro Tools SE install DVD. Please download and install the latest driver for your audio device:

http://m-audio.com/index.php?do=support&tab=driver

Let us know if this fixes the issue that you are experiencing.

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:18 PM
osuguy2102 osuguy2102 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Hi Tim,
Downloading the updated driver did not help. I am still getting Access Violation errors. Now, when I quit Protools I get another error and the program crashes. Here are some more details... the forum wouldn't let me post the error in entirety.. any help is appreciated!!!



Process: Pro Tools SE [176]
Path: /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools SE.app/Contents/MacOS/Pro Tools SE
Identifier: com.digidesign.ProToolsSE
Version: 8.0.3x225 (8.0.3f0)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [97]

Date/Time: 2011-03-16 18:13:57.864 -0500
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.6.6 (10J3210)
Report Version: 6

Interval Since Last Report: 76412 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 3
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 2154 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 3
Anonymous UUID: BC8EF9CC-F7B7-48C8-A017-3E83C28785FA

Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Application Specific Information:
abort() called
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2011, 02:35 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Thanks for the additional information. I have passed this on - we will post here as soon as we have more information as to possible causes.

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2011, 08:30 AM
Kestopolja Kestopolja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

I have exactly the same problem (cannot even playback the Demo Songs) with similar brand new MacBook Pro and Pro Tools SE (both less than a week old).

I am very much looking forward to a fix to this problem. Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2011, 02:15 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Hi Kestopolja

Thanks for the info - do you have an i5 or i7 MacBook Pro?

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2011, 01:40 PM
Kestopolja Kestopolja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Hi Tim,

Thanks for considering my problem. I have an i7 MacBook Pro.

Jari
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2011, 03:54 AM
Avid Product Design Avid Product Design is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Posts: 105
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Thanks for the information. Our engineers are in the process of obtaining hardware and looking into this issue which seems to be specific to the new i-series MacBook Pros. We will post more information on the forums as soon as it becomes available.

Tim A
__________________
Product Designer
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2011, 07:01 AM
DJTezo411 DJTezo411 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Strong Island, NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

I have picked up the same early 2011 Macbook and a MobilePre with SE...Does this problem happen with PT 8 and the Mbox Mini 2 on that system? for $50 more I may as well get that...Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2011, 12:12 PM
osuguy2102 osuguy2102 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4
Default Re: Access Violation when trying to record or even playback!

Has any solution been reached or are people still having trouble? The whole reason I bought my new MacBook Pro was to use ProTools, haha so I am patiently waiting :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Access Violation" When Trying to Record bheinlein1 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 13 12-06-2014 10:36 AM
"Access violation" whenever I record enable a track Lastmboy Windows 5 06-02-2011 11:21 PM
Have a couple of issues. Can't stop playback after access violation. Sandra included! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-17-2011 01:50 PM
Access violation. What is it and why do i get it? fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-03-2007 01:29 PM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 01:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com