Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2019, 07:09 AM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 316
Default New to PT Native Hardware

So I've been using PT Ultimate for years now with a MOTU traveller and it's time to upgrade. I'm thinking of buying a 2018 Mac Mini and Avid Omni. I don't need HDX so in order to connect the Omni to the computer I need a Native system.

My question is this: Do I need to purchase the native thunderbolt system or can I just buy a native card and an expansion chasis? The native thunderbolt systems are pretty pricey compared to the Sonnet eGFX boxes. I know the eGFX boxes work with HDX cards, but will they work with the native cards? The articles I've seen on PTE and the Avid site aren't clear.

Thanks!
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2019, 08:04 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default New to PT Native Hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by RecRoom View Post
My question is this: Do I need to purchase the native thunderbolt system or can I just buy a native card and an expansion chasis?

Thanks!


So functional wise there is no difference between the Native TB box and a Native card in a chassis.

Physically there is an extra HP jack with the Native TB Box

It all just depends on what you want/need to do, there is basically some mobility built into the Native TB box (and Mac Laptop) that the Card/Chassis doesn’t offer

To me that’s the only difference
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2019, 08:39 AM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 316
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

Excellent. Thank you for the great answer!
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2019, 03:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
there is basically some mobility built into the Native TB box (and Mac Laptop) that the Card/Chassis doesn’t offer
Yet the most important mobility-feature is not implemented in the TB box firmware, it still requires an interface connected at all times.

One would think (and hope) that when the box has HP out it could be used without interface, but no, apparently it mirrors first interface's first two outputs and therefore needs to have that interface connected.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2019, 05:24 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

The TB box is not an audio interface. It would need to be one to have its own headphone out. "Firmware" would not be a solution.

The attached interface is the audio interface. Seems pretty clear.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2019, 07:16 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,899
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

Here's a list of what you need to have for the mini and OMNI to work:

1-Pro Tools Ultimate software(standard PT does not recognize digilink hardware at all). Be sure you get the version of PT that works with the version of OSX
2-HDN Thunderbolt box with appropriate cables to connect to the Mini TB port.
3-Digilink license on your iLok(not a fan of cloud-based iLok licensing).
4-Mini-Digilink cable(connects the OMNI to the Native TB box)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2019, 07:57 PM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 316
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

Thanks everyone! I’ve ordered everything but the Digilink license. Where would I get that? Does that come with my PT ultimate license?
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2019, 08:06 PM
RecRoom RecRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 316
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

Never mind. Already got one
__________________
Jeff Hinton
Editor/Mixer
http://www.jeffhinton.tv
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2019, 08:31 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

I don't know about the HDn card or the Thunderbolt box but HDX cards come with 1 miniDigilink cable included.

I imagine the HDn and Thunderbolt do too so you probably don't have to buy one separately.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2019, 06:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,899
Default Re: New to PT Native Hardware

For those that don't already know, the Digilink license can be purchased from the online Avid store($299 I think). That license is permanent, regardless of your PT Ultimate license(AFAIK). this started with PT HD 12.6(older HD software doesn't require this separate license)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New install can't see HD Native Thunderbolt or I/O hardware MacPC macOS 9 06-28-2018 10:30 AM
Can I run HD Native on my MacBook Pro w/o hardware? johnnyv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 02-28-2016 06:57 AM
Is there an official HD Native to HDX hardware exchange? jacko Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 07-18-2013 09:17 AM
Can PT11HD be installed without HDX or HD Native hardware? Mauro371 Pro Tools 11 14 04-19-2013 12:49 PM
HD Native with TDM hardware possible koka Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 06-08-2011 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com