Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2018, 03:15 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

hi all ,
anybody have done some sound comparison between
pro tools HD native (pcie card , thunderbolt , asio , ua , etc..)

bouncing same session that include 8 drum tracks,
guitars, bass, some keyboard tracks like piano, pad, synth sound , and voice ?

how sound reverbs like the renaissance verb , DVerb etc..
in AAX compared to the Tdm version ?
there are much differences ?

somebody also made mixdown on digital console like DM 2000
or other digital desk , getting the tracks from PT Native with digital connections (adar,aes-ebu-) ?

also links to audio files or if available youtube video would be great ,

thanks in advance for post .

Last edited by zavid; 03-15-2018 at 06:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2018, 04:15 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

I don’t think English is your first language so this may be hard to understand but a bounce goes to native no matter what. It was part of the design of AAX vs AAX-DSP. This is different from AAX vs a print down
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2018, 06:04 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
hi all ,
anybody have done some sound comparison between
pro tools HD native (pcie card , thunderbolt , etc..)

bouncing same session that include 8 drum tracks,
guitars, bass, some keyboard tracks like piano, pad, synth sound , and voice ?

how sound reverbs like the renaissance verb , DVerb etc..
in AAX compared to the Tdm version ?

also links to audio files or youtube video would be great ,

there are much differences ?

somebody also made mixdown on digital console like DM 2000
or other digital desk , getting the tracks from PT Native with digital connections (adar,aes-ebu-) ?

thanks in advance for post .
I think you've got a few things mixed up. TDM technology isn't used anymore. Study up on the history of PT and you'll see that transition about 10 years ago.

As for the current AAX Native and AAX DSP variants of PT plugins, for all intents and purposes they sound identical. And Pro Tools itself DOES sound identical whether you're running it natively (PTSW, PTHD Native PCIe/TB) or on an HDX card.

Hope this helps.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2018, 06:26 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
I don’t think English is your first language so this may be hard to understand but a bounce goes to native no matter what. It was part of the design of AAX vs AAX-DSP. This is different from AAX vs a print down
Dear Big : P.O.S.

whats the problem ???
the language ??

It is really so difficult for you understand :

sound differences between mixing down (bouncing)
same PT session

(same audio tracks, same layout, same plug ins, setting included)

1 with old pro tools HD Tdm system
and:
the other with the AAX native version of protools
without HD-HDX cards , but with the native pcie card (less dsp chips) using the Native driver ,

? ? ? ? ? ?

and compare the 2 stereo mixed down files (A<->B)

if for you the english is not my first language , problem

for me the "presentiment" is you have so baddest serious problems !!!!!!!

dear Big : P.O.S.

Last edited by zavid; 03-16-2018 at 03:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2018, 06:42 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
sound differences between mixing down (bouncing)
same PT session

(same audio tracks, same layout, same plug ins, setting included)

1 with old pro tools HD Tdm system
and:
the other with the AAX native version of protools
without HD-HDX cards , but with the native pcie card (less dsp chips) using the Native driver
This would be very difficult to do because you'd be limited to plugins that exist (assuming the code is EXACTLY the same) in both formats.

But if you did, you find that the AAX native versions would likely sound better. The 32bit float environment is the widely adopted way of mixing these days as opposed to TDM's fix point environment.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2018, 08:08 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
This would be very difficult to do because you'd be limited to plugins that exist (assuming the code is EXACTLY the same) in both formats.

But if you did, you find that the AAX native versions would likely sound better. The 32bit float environment is the widely adopted way of mixing these days as opposed to TDM's fix point environment.
thanks for reply Masurek….
(finally someone "problems" less)

when "someone" post in a specialized place ,
suppose that who post in reply
is "competent" about ,
unfortunately the supposition seem to be not a good think…
(Big P.O.S. apart..)

anyway :
i know the differences about bit length word ,
but i also know that the PT-LE
since Digi001 002 ,003 , mbox etc..

not sound as the Tdm cards with dedicated dsp chips ,
because dap processing is loaded on the d.a.w cpu ,
(dsp digital data compression / reduction,
for avoid cpu crash at the first plug ins opening…..)

and the topic of the thread is the same , LE vs Tdm topic

"overlying" to Native (without dsp cards) vs. old HD tdm cards

seen (the same) that the processing is loaded o the d.a.w cpu
considering that the actual intel multicore cpus are much more
"performers" than the old ones ,

and probably the actual PT Native dsp digital data compression / reduction, is more smooth than the old ones …

but only the ears can say the truth !

reason why i asked (if possible) audio files comparison ,
and better more with video like on youtube many real time comparison between different outboards ,
outboards vs plug ins , different version of plug ins , etc..
can be found,

unfortunately not found related , after various researches
then this thread .

(big : P.O.S. , apart)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2018, 02:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,217
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Digital audio is just math. With some simplifications, as long as you have nailed your gain staging it should sound just the same.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2018, 03:08 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 415
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

simple answer is yes tdm and pt native/hdx sound a bit different. its a bit challenging to really compare unless you are going through same convertors but i did it. gain staging as previously mentioned is different and you must make sure that tdm is not distorting.

as far as bouncing I much prefer bouncing to disk in hdx/native to same function in pt tdm. I abandoned btd in TDM many years ago. btd in hdx/pt native is much improved.

ej
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2018, 08:34 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
but only the ears can say the truth !

reason why i asked (if possible) audio files comparison ,
and better more with video like on youtube many real time comparison between different outboards (big : P.O.S. , apart)
Well youtube might skew your ears as well.....due to it's compression format.

(big : P.O.S. , apart)




BScout ;^)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2018, 08:41 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: Pro Tools Ntive vs HD Tdm sound comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I think you've got a few things mixed up. TDM technology isn't used anymore. Study up on the history of PT and you'll see that transition about 10 years ago.

As for the current AAX Native and AAX DSP variants of PT plugins, for all intents and purposes they sound identical. And Pro Tools itself DOES sound identical whether you're running it natively (PTSW, PTHD Native PCIe/TB) or on an HDX card.

Hope this helps.

Drew speaks the truth here and I totally agree having gone thru the whole TDM versions from the beginning. To be honest, I don't miss those days at all. I think the AAX plugs sound better and are more stable that RTAS ever was.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.10 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2012 10:06 PM
Pro Tools LE and HD Comparison Chart? Dizzi45Z Tips & Tricks 3 05-26-2008 01:13 PM
MBox2 vs. MBox2 Pro. Sound comparison @44.1/24bit floatingpoint_32bit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2006 08:51 AM
Sound Comparison- Mbox vs 002 Rack babyalex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-01-2003 09:42 AM
Comparison of digi001 w/ pro tools III Jerparise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-23-1999 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com