Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2311  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:47 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike59271 View Post
Hey i was really hoping someone here could help me get my computer up to snuff with compatibility standards. here is a report of my comp's info

<<< System Summary >>>
> Mainboard : Asus P5KC
> Chipset : Intel P31/P35
> Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2533 MHz
> Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
> Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
> Hard Disk : ST3320620A (320 GB)
> Hard Disk : MICRONET (1000 GB)
> DVD-Rom Drive : Memorex DVD16+/-DL4RWlD2
> Monitor Type : Dell Computer DELL E172FP - 17 inches
> Monitor Type : IBM IBM L191p - 19 inches
> Network Card : L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Controller
> Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
> DirectX : Version 9.0c (May 2005)


From what i can tell so far the chipset is no good. Ive been experiencing relentless problems with BFD2 where it runs out of memory all the time and it keeps crashing PT. If anyone could just check that out for me and let me know what NEEDS to be done and what SHOULD be done id be very grateful.

I dont want to break the bank but i definitely want to get the necessary components and anything else that is going to make my system more stable without completely cannibalizing it. Thanks guys!

Im running Pro Tools LE 8.0 with Windows XP Pro (SP3)
P5KC should be a P45 running DDR2/DDR3 if my memory serves correctly. It should run PT just fine.

BFD2 runs everyone out of memory

Check for the /3GB switch thread and you should pickup a 1GB or so of usable memory for PT and its apps. How much you end up with depends on how much your video card is reserving for its frame buffer. Smaller cards are better in this regard.

EDIT: Thread on 3GB switch Basically all you need to since 8.0 or later is already LargeAddressAware is add the switch to your boot.ini file.

Some more reading http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system...AE/PAEmem.mspx
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2312  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:56 PM
mike59271 mike59271 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
P5KC should be a P45 running DDR2/DDR3 if my memory serves correctly. It should run PT just fine.
Are you sure the compatibility grid doesn't list the P31/P35 chipset. To be perfectly honest this is all jargon to me. All i know is pro tools is acting wierd and i want it to work, so im trying to understand what this all means. Would you mind explaining in laymen s terms what chipset is and how it relates to my issues?
Reply With Quote
  #2313  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:04 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike59271 View Post
Are you sure the compatibility grid doesn't list the P31/P35 chipset. To be perfectly honest this is all jargon to me. All i know is pro tools is acting wierd and i want it to work, so im trying to understand what this all means. Would you mind explaining in laymen s terms what chipset is and how it relates to my issues?
Your correct it is the P35 and not the P45. The nomanclature is just a naming convention. P45 is a one generation newer than the P35.

Chances are theres nothing wrong with your chipset. It's how Windows uses memory thats the issue.

I added a link to the post above.

You have 4GB of RAM. Thats all the 32bit Windows can "See".
Windows Splits this 50/50 between the operating system itself and any applications. This made sense when 256MB of RAM was a lot... Now that we have 4GB it doesn't make sense. Windows doesn't need 2GB of space 1 GB is sufficient. The /3GB switch changes that to a 25/75 % ratio for the OS and its applications. 1GB for windows and roughly 3Gb for applications.

Windows reserves part of this 3Gb space for the frame buffer of your video card. In order to feed your video card it needs some virtual storage space. If all the information flowing into your video card is like water in a trough the frame buffer is the "bucket" were are using to pour the water with.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2314  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:29 PM
mike59271 mike59271 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Hey there, i just did the boot file mod that kid talked about. Followed it to a tee and it still crashed. I wasn't sure how to try and get it to crash so i just opened up my previous session, pulled up BFD2 and just let it play and about 1 minute later it crashed. It was the same error message about memory usage. Any thoughts?

I have no idea how to get this stupid thing to stop, mind pointing me to some troubleshooting guides or something? Thanks alot for the help man

EDIT: Maybe i should update from 8.0 to 8.0.1? I tried the most recent update 8.0.3 and it just glitched the hell out of my system so i had to reformat, this time i was hesitant to do any updating given my past experience. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2315  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:41 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike59271 View Post
Hey there, i just did the boot file mod that kid talked about. Followed it to a tee and it still crashed. I wasn't sure how to try and get it to crash so i just opened up my previous session, pulled up BFD2 and just let it play and about 1 minute later it crashed. It was the same error message about memory usage. Any thoughts?

I have no idea how to get this stupid thing to stop, mind pointing me to some troubleshooting guides or something? Thanks alot for the help man
Well I don't have BFD so I can only offer suggestions. My email is to the left in my user information. If you want to send my a copy of your boot.ini I will double check it.

The next step would be to check the stickies at the top of the Windows forum called "General Troubleshooting" and "Help Us Help You" follow the general troubleshooting thread to the "T". Its important because it establishes a common system base line to start troubleshooting from.

BFD has some settings for quality and you might try reducing that slightly to keep on working. Also it might be helpful to reboot after PT has crashed to ensure that all the memory gets released.

To really go any farther we need a Sandra report and for you to set the system up as recommended.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2316  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:53 PM
mike59271 mike59271 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

email sent. Im going to go through those checklists one more time right now and make sure everything is up to snuff. I will report back Thank you for your help sunburst!
Reply With Quote
  #2317  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:39 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike59271 View Post
email sent. Im going to go through those checklists one more time right now and make sure everything is up to snuff. I will report back Thank you for your help sunburst!
You need Tom@Metro to help with the USERVA and guitardom to help you set up BFD2 to play a little nicer. Not having BFD2 limits what I can do to help.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2318  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:24 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,988
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

The USERVA switch is a command for increasing the amount of RAM allocated to the system by reducing the amount given to programs. It can be useful to PT users who employ the /3GB switch on a 32bit system and find that they need more RAM for the system in order to achieve stability. Large video cards are one of the culprits that can cause the system to become more RAM hungry.

BFD2 can be made more RAM efficient by using the "load on demand" feature in the latest release.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2319  
Old 01-30-2010, 03:41 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
The USERVA switch is a command for increasing the amount of RAM allocated to the system by reducing the amount given to programs. It can be useful to PT users who employ the /3GB switch on a 32bit system and find that they need more RAM for the system in order to achieve stability. Large video cards are one of the culprits that can cause the system to become more RAM hungry.

BFD2 can be made more RAM efficient by using the "load on demand" feature in the latest release.
Thank you Major Tom for touching both points.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2320  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:20 PM
mike59271 mike59271 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

thanks guys. I did the 3GB switch as well as updating to the newest release of BFD and my system is running a lot better. I just finished a session with about 20 tracks, maybe 15 of those were VI intensive with lots of automation and extra plugins and it worked out pretty good. So thanks, im going to revert to an older system image and make sure i employ everything from the getco this time...

thanks a lot, you've been a great help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6785 11-16-2019 05:25 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 06:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 03:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 03:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com