Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2301  
Old 01-13-2010, 04:12 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,629
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave67 View Post
As a tech think that pro tools has old code this would explain the hardware and software issues.
Yep. The code it's built on was initially developed not only a long time ago (early 1990s) but also for Motorola only. Intel compatibility didn't come along for several years. On the plus side, backward compatibility has been reasonably good, as long as you don't expect to open sessions from like 4 versions back to exactly like it was. The down side is, the old gray mare, she ain't what she used to be. As has been noted in many other threads, there's going to have to be a total rewrite sooner or later. Hopefully it's already being done for v9. After that, it'll be smooth sailing.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.10 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #2302  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:02 AM
dave67 dave67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Oh Winxp SP3 OEM can still be purchased even though it costs $10 bucks less win7 OEM and it will be supported till 2014 in case no one knows :)

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0&Sku=M17-7503

dave
Reply With Quote
  #2303  
Old 01-14-2010, 10:12 AM
dave67 dave67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

I been looking at the CPU's, and memory I think for his budget the Q9650 is to much. Keep the cost down as much as possible I thought this is the best option.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115056

Memory is this s good option or is there one better

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231166

is there any concern about the Cas Latency?


Any issues with ati or Nvidia video cards I should be aware of? I thought this would a be a good choice

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125251


thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2304  
Old 01-14-2010, 12:24 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave67 View Post
I been looking at the CPU's, and memory I think for his budget the Q9650 is to much. Keep the cost down as much as possible I thought this is the best option.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115056

Memory is this s good option or is there one better

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231166

is there any concern about the Cas Latency?


Any issues with ati or Nvidia video cards I should be aware of? I thought this would a be a good choice

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125251


thanks :)
Well I just ordered the same exact memory for a AMD X4 620 build I want to play with. So hopefully its good You may have to enter the timing manually if its not auto detected properly. The latency is just fine. right where it should be

I strongly recommend the processor below over the Dual Core. Pro Tools multi threads quite well and theres a significant boost in performance between the Dual and Quad Cores.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115055

The card looks good.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2305  
Old 01-14-2010, 11:10 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,986
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

I'm still on a Core 2 Quad and the rig runs well every day. It's in my signature below. The Q9550 is very close to the Q9650, 15-20 DVerb count difference.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2306  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:44 AM
dave67 dave67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

now for the HD etc
it it really required to have two HD?
I though we might reuse the pata but with a WD 160GB for $40 I can get one this will be faster than the older drive, should be no issues on installing these drives. I did see something about sata as IDE. I have never had to configure a SATA drive all my clients have older systems. I will read the modo manual as well.

Are there any bios settings for PT 8.03 besides the memory settings if yes is the post you can link to me?

I went with the Q8200 2.33GHz :)

Thanks for all the help

dave

Last edited by dave67; 01-15-2010 at 10:34 AM. Reason: my spelling :(
Reply With Quote
  #2307  
Old 01-15-2010, 01:22 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave67 View Post
now for the HD etc
it it really required to have two HD?
I though we might reuse the pata but with a WD 160GB for $40 I can get one this will be faster than the older drive, should be no issues on installing these drives. I did see something about sata as IDE. I have never had to configure a SATA drive all my clients have older systems. I will read the modo manual as well.

Are there any bios settings for PT 8.03 besides the memory settings if yes is the post you can link to me?

I went with the Q8200 2.33GHz :)

Thanks for all the help

dave
You need 2 hard drives. one for the OS and one for audio.

While I think that having things all SATA make for a cleaner system setup I haven't seen anything to suggest that theres any reason not to reuse your old PATA drive. For me the big thing here would be if I was reusing a PATA optical drive. Most motherboards allow you to disable the stand alone IDE controller In BIOS if your not using it. If I was going to use a new SATA optical drive I would disable the IDE controller and go all SATA. Anything you can disable is potentially one less problem.

For best system performance you want a 7200 RPM Audio drive with the largest cache. A current DUC favorite would be a the WD black drive with a 32MB cache. Given a choice I would use the fastest drive as the audio drive.

PATA is officially dead. Don't spend another dollar there again. There is no reason to get rid of any PATA drives though. As you replace them with larger, faster SATA drives just stick them in external drive cases and use them for backup drives.

What board did you decide on?

That memory still hasn't shown up here so I cant pass any judgment.

Reading the manual is a good thing and I wish more people would take the hour or so it takes to leaf through it.

Using XP I have always set the drives to "IDE mode", "Enhanced"
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2308  
Old 01-16-2010, 05:59 AM
dave67 dave67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

For the mobo I decided on the ASUS P5Q Pro turbo it was only one I still can find that can be purchased. That said the suggested build is over his budget as I though it work be so right now this is on hold.

thanks though for all the info, I will keep the information for a future build.

thanks dave
Reply With Quote
  #2309  
Old 01-17-2010, 12:51 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,986
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131297
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2310  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:18 PM
mike59271 mike59271 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Hey i was really hoping someone here could help me get my computer up to snuff with compatibility standards. here is a report of my comp's info

<<< System Summary >>>
> Mainboard : Asus P5KC
> Chipset : Intel P31/P35
> Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2533 MHz
> Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
> Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
> Hard Disk : ST3320620A (320 GB)
> Hard Disk : MICRONET (1000 GB)
> DVD-Rom Drive : Memorex DVD16+/-DL4RWlD2
> Monitor Type : Dell Computer DELL E172FP - 17 inches
> Monitor Type : IBM IBM L191p - 19 inches
> Network Card : L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Controller
> Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
> DirectX : Version 9.0c (May 2005)


From what i can tell so far the chipset is no good. Ive been experiencing relentless problems with BFD2 where it runs out of memory all the time and it keeps crashing PT. If anyone could just check that out for me and let me know what NEEDS to be done and what SHOULD be done id be very grateful.

I dont want to break the bank but i definitely want to get the necessary components and anything else that is going to make my system more stable without completely cannibalizing it. Thanks guys!

Im running Pro Tools LE 8.0 with Windows XP Pro (SP3)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6785 11-16-2019 05:25 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 06:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 03:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 03:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com