Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2020, 05:18 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 578
Default Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

Hey guys

When I launch PT it takes about 12 seconds to boot until the "initializing midi engine" part ...but then it just stays there for two minutes, and finally is ready for use.

Any idea what causes this?

Latest PT and latest Catalina
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2020, 08:01 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 895
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

My guess is that PT is trying to open communication with a MIDI device that is not responding. It waits for a certain length of time, then eventually cancels the initiation attempt as it times out, and finishes launching. Do you have any MIDI devices that are not in use or unavailable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli P View Post
Hey guys

When I launch PT it takes about 12 seconds to boot until the "initializing midi engine" part ...but then it just stays there for two minutes, and finally is ready for use.

Any idea what causes this?

Latest PT and latest Catalina
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2020, 08:17 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

I've had this happen once or twice when I forgot to turn on my Faderport or turned it on during startup.
I'm on Windows though.

I've also had PT hang in the final load stage if my machine was still loading.

Last edited by take77; 11-25-2020 at 01:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2020, 08:51 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 578
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

I have tried to make sure any connected midi device is turned on.

Can it be some preference somewhere deep down that looks for some midi device I have gotten rid of long ago?
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2020, 05:25 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,017
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli P View Post
I have tried to make sure any connected midi device is turned on.

Can it be some preference somewhere deep down that looks for some midi device I have gotten rid of long ago?
That shouldn't be the cause as there are a lot of times I don't have my MIDI interface powered up when running PT. I have had PT hang for a long time at the 'restoring tracks' and it doesn't matter session size and all tracks are audio.


It could be due to the fact that you're running a combo of PT and OSX that aren't considered compatible by AVID.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2020, 10:23 AM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 578
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

But this is before loading any session...just starting pro tools up.
And it does it every time.
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i9 3.6 (late 2019) / 64 GB Ram / OS 10.15.7
Apollo 8 / PT Ultimate 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2020, 02:19 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That shouldn't be the cause as there are a lot of times I don't have my MIDI interface powered up when running PT. I have had PT hang for a long time at the 'restoring tracks' and it doesn't matter session size and all tracks are audio.


It could be due to the fact that you're running a combo of PT and OSX that aren't considered compatible by AVID.
You're right. Usually if my Faderport is off PT it just lets me know with a message then I click to acknowledge and proceed.

The couple times PT has hung up during MIDI initialization for me were rare occurrences and seemed more of a delay with Windows loading drivers etc. It was when I launched PT while windows was still loading.

But if this is happening every-time...hmmm
I'm using 2020.11 and have only had a couple random hangups with this version and 2019.12

Have you tried deleting preferences and/or removing your MIDI devices from the peripheral list and re-adding them?
Other than that, maybe a fresh install of PT itself?

Does Mac use drivers? IDK I'm on PC but maybe a reinstall of anything related to your peripheral device?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2020, 01:06 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Pro Tools initializing midi engine for two minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post

It could be due to the fact that you're running a combo of PT and OSX that aren't considered compatible by AVID.

Yes. Not to be overlooked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editor - Error Initializing MIDI Engine Michael North Eleven Rack 15 10-31-2020 10:48 PM
Initializing midi engine on 12.6 glogulus Pro Tools 12 1 11-05-2016 10:29 PM
Pro Tools 12, initializing audio engine rhumphries Pro Tools 12 3 03-15-2016 11:44 AM
initializing MIDI engine taking 4ever & no midi studio? Gene100 macOS 2 10-09-2014 11:45 PM
Pro Tools 11 hangs up at "loading midi engine" step for 10 minutes kevinjrowe macOS 0 08-23-2014 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com