Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2019, 09:48 AM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Pro Tools 12.5.x
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 Gen2
Latest Focusrite Control and Drivers

Win7


I've been running smooth but I'm now getting this error



"pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio"


The Session opens fine But the error pops up when I hit play


It seems to happen on 48k Sessions But at times it will pop up on any sample rate session


A restert is needed after every time I get the error


Thanks for your time and Help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2019, 10:35 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Do the latest Focusrite drivers support Windows 7? Ah you can't tell either.... how is anybody supposed to work out OS with is compatible with what?

What exact device are you using as the playback engine... is that the ASIO Focusrite device? Make sure you do not have ASIO4ALL installed/are accidentally trying to use that.

Is Windows sound or other apps trying to use the Focusrite device?... you need to set them to use a different device.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2019, 11:54 AM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

I went through all the settings with Focusrite Support



He Knew I was on Win 7 and didn't mention compatibility issues?


No ASIO4ALL Installed



I've ran Other Audio and Video apps with no issues



It still seems to come down to the few 48k sessions I open then everything is haywire!



Thanks for your input Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2019, 01:49 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Really double check that Windows sound and no other apps are trying to use that interface, that is very likely to be the cause here. Did Focusrite support work through that with you?

Lots of posts on DUC about that and related problems, e.g. http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=389551
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2019, 06:44 PM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Hi Darryl


Thanks again for your feedback!!!!


In the Sound control Panel Playback devices and the Record Devices the 18i8 is disabled


The Speaker Icon on the tool Bar has an "X" In it



I checked the Link you sent and the original poster to the thread never said if his problem got fixed?


Strange how it is Just the 48k Sessions???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2019, 07:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Quote:
Originally Posted by NuBus View Post
Hi Darryl


Thanks again for your feedback!!!!


In the Sound control Panel Playback devices and the Record Devices the 18i8 is disabled


The Speaker Icon on the tool Bar has an "X" In it



I checked the Link you sent and the original poster to the thread never said if his problem got fixed?


Strange how it is Just the 48k Sessions???
The normal reasons 48 kHz sessions fail is if some other software has the driver open at any other clock rate (usually 44.1 kHz) then trying to change to 48 kHz will fail. Same likely happens if you try 96 kHz. Does it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2019, 04:44 PM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default Re: pro tools could not initialize the focusrite usb asio

Thanks for your Help on this Darryl!!!!!!


From what you were coaching me on and reading the other post I have figured out a work around



Since all the audio devices were disabled the only program that could be using the Drivers is Pro Tools


So this is what I have to do


I'll open a session in any Sample Rate don't hit play and exit Pro Tools then start Pro Tools again and open the same project Plays fine



Now it's locked in that sample rate so I can open any other Session in that Sample Rate!!!


So what I did was make Three Test Session one in each sample rate 44.1, 48 and 96 there is just one track in each so it loads fast so if I know what sample rate I'll be working in I launch the Test Sessions first!!!


Why this happens I have no idea


All my other Audio and Video programs have no issue


Is it time to move to Win 10??


Thanks again for your time and help with my temperamental Setup Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid ASIO won't initialize my hardware sean shannon Pro Tools 10 5 02-24-2016 03:43 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize the Yeti Pro ASIO error pvtrainer Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 11-12-2015 10:40 AM
Pro Tools could not initialize the Yamaha Steinberg USB ASIO..... CraigMusic Pro Tools 11 2 07-14-2015 04:22 PM
Windows 7 x64 PT10.2 Could not initialize ASIO ESI MAYA 44e peterpan Windows 1 08-07-2012 10:22 PM
Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more fireal2112 Windows 19 05-06-2011 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com