Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2006, 03:25 PM
Mattafact Mattafact is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 72
Default Installing PT 5.3.1 on a PC---Need Help!

Hi, I'm installing a Pro Tools 24 system (D24 Core and 2 DSP Farms) on my AMD Athlon 64 rig. When I install the cards, I get a the add hardware window which the manual says to leave open. I then click on the Pro Tools installation and it goes through the installation process. The problem I'm having is that it's only installing the drivers for my D24 and not my DSP Farms. Windows sees the DSP farms and wants to install drivers but it can't find them.

What do I do? I run digitest and it only sees the D24.

Thanks,
Matt

P.S. It's an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ on a DFI Lanparty 250GB motherboard with XP SP1.
__________________
Breakthru Recording
www.myspace.com/breakthrurecording
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2006, 04:51 PM
len branville len branville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: minneapolis
Posts: 315
Default Re: Installing PT 5.3.1 on a PC---Need Help!

Hello,

I think that some legacy hardware/software might only be compatible with certain Intel based PC's-- memory serves-That doesn't mean that it can't or won't work but if that's the case you could run into some issues. I would check the compatibility documents closely.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:12 PM
Mattafact Mattafact is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 72
Default Re: Installing PT 5.3.1 on a PC---Need Help!

The computer finds the cards but how do I install the drivers for them so that digitest and pro tools recognizes them?
__________________
Breakthru Recording
www.myspace.com/breakthrurecording
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2006, 11:24 AM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Installing PT 5.3.1 on a PC---Need Help!

You might not ever be able to. Read the compatibility docs for your system. Don't be fooled by things like the computer registering some part of the install, or parts of things seeming to work. That's not an indication that it ever will.

On the other hand, you can probably get a fully loaded used computer from the era of that system for $200 or $300, and live happily ever after.
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2007, 06:40 PM
Chris Watkins Chris Watkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ketchum, ID
Posts: 147
Default Re: Installing PT 5.3.1 on a PC---Need Help!

I'm having this problem with 6.4.1 as well.

I *can* tell the dsp farm card when it is uninstalled to use dalwdm,
but it doesn't install any dsp type drivers and protools says hardware no found.

I was assuming I needed a mix farm, but from this message it looks like 5.3 didn't
work either..

Thing is, I have a supported PC/chipset.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 10.3.1 rballister macOS 2 10-10-2012 09:36 PM
Installing MP-8 on new mac francomurillo Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 10-04-2011 09:11 PM
Installing 8.0.3pr in 10.6.1 rabssi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-30-2009 11:14 AM
Installing HD over LE dmoody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-23-2008 07:46 PM
Installing both Mix and HD Kenshiro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-18-2003 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com