Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:12 PM
Digg Digg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

Hello... let me start by saying that I am very new to home recording, PT, and MAC. Having said that, I have alot of questions, mostly general at this point, but trust me... lots more to follow.

So here is what I did... I have been reading this forum and all the advice from some of the pro's on here (Thank you) and have used that info to put together what I think is a nice home studio.

My set-up
Mac Pro quad core 2.66 Ghz with 8 gig of Ram - OS X Snow Leopard ( my windows PC with AMD processor would not work so I bought the Mac)
M Box 2 Pro with PT LE 8.0 (downloaded 8.0.3) factory bundle
dual 20" flat panel monitors
M Audio reference monitors

The QUESTIONS;

1. PT says that you should record and save your sessions on a separate external HD. Not the drive that your OS is on. they also have specific criteria that the drive should have...
- Can I just use a second internal HD in the Mac Pro?
- Any thoughts on the MERCURY Elite-Al Pro (Firewire 800/400, USB 2.0, eSATA) external HD from Other World Computing?

2. PT recommends in the basic user guide that you change some settings so that your computer will run PT better...
- Should I turn off the auto update feature? If so... how do you get the updates from MAC, and are there any updates I should avoid that will mess with PT?

3. This may sound stupid, but how do I get to the programs that I would use to record guitar or bass... (like Amplitube). Again, I am new to MAC and what I would like to do is plug my guitar in and hear some of the guitar plugins... are they in there????


At this point, I have PT installed, I have opened it and listened to the Demo and clicked a few buttons... did record a Mic check and it seems to be working ok... I am not getting any error messages at this point.

thanks for the help... many more questions to follow.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2010, 08:01 PM
nst7 nst7 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,798
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

1. You will get the best performance by using more internal drives in your mac pro. You can get these internal drives from OWC also, in addition to their external drives you mentioned (which are great, by the way). Since you have a mac pro, the internal ones are a better option.

2. Definitely follow the Digi advice about system settings. Turn off auto update. You don't always want to update quickly as sometimes there can be technical issues. When you do update, use the "combo update" available from the Apple website. It just works better.

3. As far as guitar plugins, you mentioned Amplitube. This does not come with protools, unless you bought it seperately. The only ones are Eleven Free and Sansamp. Regardless of what guitar plug you use (whether 3rd party or included), you create an audio track and insert the plugin. Record arm the track to be able to hear the guitar through the plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2010, 11:10 PM
Digg Digg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

Thank you so much.... So overwhelming at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2010, 07:17 AM
musicalavtech musicalavtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Piqua, oHIo
Posts: 509
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digg View Post
The QUESTIONS;

1. PT says that you should record and save your sessions on a separate external HD. Not the drive that your OS is on. they also have specific criteria that the drive should have...
- Can I just use a second internal HD in the Mac Pro?
- Any thoughts on the MERCURY Elite-Al Pro (Firewire 800/400, USB 2.0, eSATA) external HD from Other World Computing?

2. PT recommends in the basic user guide that you change some settings so that your computer will run PT better...
- Should I turn off the auto update feature? If so... how do you get the updates from MAC, and are there any updates I should avoid that will mess with PT?

3. This may sound stupid, but how do I get to the programs that I would use to record guitar or bass... (like Amplitube). Again, I am new to MAC and what I would like to do is plug my guitar in and hear some of the guitar plugins... are they in there????
1. MERCURY Elite-Al Pro (Firewire 800/400, USB 2.0, eSATA) external HD is a good choice. Internal drives are super EZ enough to install as well.

2. already covered

3. On the mix window, at the top, click any insert button and scroll down to plugin>harmonic and then your plug of choice. This should usually be a mono track for guitar. Sansamp is not bad...but check out the Studio Devil British Valve Custom (BVC) http://www.studiodevil.com/download/downloadBVC.htm This virtual amp blows away eleven free, amplitube, line six and most of the others for a tube tone...IMHO. And the price can't be beat.
__________________
OSX10.6.8, 1st gen Power Mac,
PT8.0.5, Mbox2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:48 PM
Digg Digg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

Thank you as well for the info... Feel free to send me any other tips or suggestions.

My next situation... When I open a new session, my transport window is not coming up? where the heck did it go. Is this a window that I have to open like the mix window?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,938
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

The transport window should come up visible as long as the session was saved that way. Just choose it to show(I think under the windows drop down menu....not at my PT machine right now).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:30 PM
barlevy barlevy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 132
Default Re: New to PT and New to MAC - General Questions

cmd+3 on the numeric pad will get you the transport window

although you should already have transport stuck above

in PT 8 u have 2 transport - one stuck above and one can by floating
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD & PT 9, and some general questions... azulay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 03-02-2011 10:24 AM
From PC to Mac...general questions... sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 10 02-21-2007 03:07 PM
some general PT questions 5down1up Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 12-25-2002 12:40 AM
General Mac questions ratz Tips & Tricks 3 08-07-2001 03:40 PM
Just a few general questions JUST-IN-GREED Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 11-29-2000 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com