Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2019, 01:43 AM
drummerunner drummerunner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 5
Default PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

Hi everybody,

I'm a long term ProTools user already but it's the first time I post here, because I've searched the threads up and down, and I only found one closed thread on my specific problem. The thread was called "Pro Tools 12.7 Can not open iLok no license but I have" and was solved by @Jeffro on the Avid side...

Ok, here's the thing:

I work on a MacBook Pro 2017, High Sierra (10.13.6), ILok 3rd Generation

I've updated my ProTools 12 to the latest version (12.2018) and since then my ilok doesn't get recognized. Instead I get this:

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-18 um 09.12.34.jpg

I also updated the ILok Manager already to the latest update and though my ILok looks fine there (see Picture below), PT still doesn't accept it.

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-19 um 08.42.46.jpg

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-18 um 09.06.05.jpg

If I click on the Avid ProTools plan or anything else in the ILM I get this window, where the activate button is greyed out...

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-18 um 09.05.52.jpg

I even tried a different ILok from a friend of mine, which perfectly worked on his ProTools that same day (before and after we tried it on my Mac). So it ain't a typical ILok Hub thing, I guess. BTW, I also tried all the thunderbolt inserts and different hubs.

I'm getting desperate already, as I really need to continue my work in ProTools but I JUST CAN'T though I got my license until autumn 2019 and everything should be correct... At least I don't see the mistake! So please please please help me out!!!

Thank you so much already and hope to hear you soon! ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:08 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,626
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

So.... if you have been looking at posts about this you should see many of them pointing out that Pro Tools 12.6 and later needs a new license on your iLok. So It’s confusing why you are not clarifying exactly what license version you have/what you think you are entitled to. And swapping iLoks etc is a waste of time given the well known issue likely hitting you here.

If you qualify for a 12.6 or later license (like by having an active update plan, or having had an active update plan in the past when 12.6 or later was released the new license should have been deposited in your iLok account. If you don’t/did’t have an active subscription and want to run this you will need to purchase a subscription renewal.

If you think you qualify and are not getting that new license deposited in your account then you should contact Avid customer support (Free for licensing issues) and post that incident number here.

I have no idea what you mean by “autumn 2019”. What exactly is shown in your iLok and in your iLok accoubt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:11 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,626
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-a-new-license
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2019, 03:04 AM
drummerunner drummerunner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

Thank you Darryl for your quick answer.

If I get this right according to the article new licenses are called "ProTools Perpetual" instead of "ProTools 12". My ILM does say "ProTools Perpetual"...

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-21 um 11.00.57.jpg

I also watched a video how to surrender an old license but that doesn't seem to be the case here... Or am I totally out?!

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-21 um 11.01.36.jpg

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-21 um 11.01.25.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2019, 03:37 AM
drummerunner drummerunner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

Darryl,

Yes I saw that I need a new license, but my ILM doesn't offer me to surrender the old one. It also says "Pro Tools Perpetual" instead of the older name "ProTools 12" according to the article you've sent me.

I have a perpetual education license, which needs to be renewed in Oct 2019. In my first post I did'nt know the exact month, so that's why I wrote "Autumn 2019".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2019, 09:02 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

Your release limit shows 12/10/2018. ProTools 2018.12 was released after that which is why you have no working license.

I don’t know about educational licenses. It it looks like you have a standard one and didn’t renew ($$$) the license in time in December. You’ll need to get your license fixed by Avid support or downgrade to any version before 2018.12.
There’s nothing else to be done.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2019, 02:10 AM
drummerunner drummerunner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Austria
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT 12 doesn't recognize ilok though ILM does...

Thanks for your reply, BScout!

In the meantime I was in contact with Ziv from Avid and fortunately he was able to solve my problem.
I just had to reinstall the ILM and synchronize my ILok...

Just wanted to let you know! Thanks for your efforts and all the best!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Express doesn't recognize license on iLok xmenesesx Pro Tools Express on Windows 0 07-23-2012 11:56 AM
PC doesn't recognize MBox 2 FJBrooks586 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 01-21-2010 04:30 PM
PT 7.1.1 Doesn't Recognize 002 HW doghammerbiscuit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-22-2007 08:19 PM
Need Help! New box doesn't recognize Digi001 Rober50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-09-2006 04:18 PM
PT doesn't recognize certain iLok authorizations at01music Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-20-2005 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com