Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:24 PM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 117
Default Mix won't power on

Has anyone else experienced this?
Checked cables, power supply light is on, but the Artist Mix won't turn on.
JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:59 PM
klyg klyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: taipei
Posts: 132
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjsoundoc View Post
Has anyone else experienced this?
Checked cables, power supply light is on, but the Artist Mix won't turn on.
JJ
I had have the same problem. Ask AVID for RMA. Your mix 's power (internal) may have burned.
__________________
Cheers !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2012, 01:22 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,443
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I had this with a Control. Came in in the morning and it didn't turn on. Took about 3-4 weeks to get it repaired on warranty via AVID.
Came back with no report on what was fixed so I can't say what the issue was. It wasn't the PSU since I'm still using the same one.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:13 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 535
Default Re: Mix won't power on

My artist mix (AVID Black) won't power on as of today. No rhyme or reason. The power adaptor seems to be working (green light). The Euphonix Transport which is on the same network and work conditioner is working fine.

I went back to try to find an ASC, yet couldn't find one. I found a link and submitted a service request, yet it stated that it was only if I had registered my product before 04/26/2012.

(http://euphonix.avid.com/artist/ux/e...p?show=contact)

Not sure why this would matter.

AVID, is this the correct place to start?
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,536
Default Re: Mix won't power on

You want hardware repair, just call em up, its on the phone menus somewhere. Should not needs an ASC.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:31 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 535
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Hey Darryl,
just spoke with someone at AVID, I called the following Avid assisted support telephone number: +1 650 731-6100.

They said I had to purchase an ASC code for $60.00 to work through the issue before I can get warranty work. I went back and couldn't find an ASC code for my Artist Mix (normally the are emailed).

When I request a list of ASC codes, I get them emailed to me, however after review these are for my HD I/O devices and PT10HD software.

Normally all support I have had has been via email.

Or could you help me find a # I can call, I feel I have followed the links...from the home page all the way to the link I posted previously. Thanks for any help!
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,536
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by MADIrouting View Post
Hey Darryl,
just spoke with someone at AVID, I called the following Avid assisted support telephone number: +1 650 731-6100.

They said I had to purchase an ASC code for $60.00 to work through the issue before I can get warranty work. I went back and couldn't find an ASC code for my Artist Mix (normally the are emailed).

When I request a list of ASC codes, I get them emailed to me, however after review these are for my HD I/O devices and PT10HD software.

Normally all support I have had has been via email.

Or could you help me find a # I can call, I feel I have followed the links...from the home page all the way to the link I posted previously. Thanks for any help!
If the unit does not power on I dont' need to pay Avid to help them show me show that. I'm sure they get lots of false/erroneous warranty returns and that's a problem for them, but they really should debug that without charge for something as pathetically simple as not powering up. If I could pull up a free ASC then maybe I'd use that. If you never got the ASC you were owed then I'd take that up with them as well. I'm not a fan of Avid's overall support policies (some of the worst support policies of any company I've seen) and I'd just argue with them. YMMV. And if I was Avid I'd be trying to make Euphonix Artist customers a happy as possible given the history of problems with these units. Not that it helps with this, but I hear great stories about SSL customer support going well above and beyond with their Nucleus control surfaces. Glad to see at least they 'get it'. Sigh.

If the telephone does not get you help then maybe the Euphonix support portal will.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:57 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,443
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I simply brought mine back to my dealer and he sent it to Ireland.
Since the law here protects the customer for 2 years I think it would't even be legal to charge someone 60$ only to get access to the warranty service.
Why not contact your dealer instead of AVID?

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:49 PM
Bluto Bluto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I'm having the same problem. My Artist Mix suddenly won't turn on when pressing the power button.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2012, 01:52 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 535
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I finally was able to initiate a ticket using my PT10HD support agreement that came with the purchase of the software. After that, I had to show proof of purchase, which I had, and then they provided an RMA without question. They stated a 7-10 turn around. I hope to have it back in the next week.
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 05:23 PM
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 02:10 AM
Correct Order to Power Up & Power Down Digi 002 Rack? bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-12-2008 07:57 AM
Mbox 2 power consumption? How much of a power load is this spaids 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-30-2007 07:27 AM
002 rack power harness power suplly issue rockstah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-07-2004 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com