Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:25 AM
critza critza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 352
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

I get this on small and large sessions, didnt have it before upgrading to PT 10
__________________
PC 7980XE @ 4.2
PT 12.7 Ableton 10.0.1
Great River ME-1NV, Ehrlund EHR-M, Axiom Pro 49, Brauner Valvet, Oktavamod MXL-910, RODE NT5 with Oktavamod MJE-384K, Crane Song Trakker, SSL 611EQ, SSL X-Desk, Sennheiser HD600/650
IS Pro Double 6" Speakers, www.intelligentsound.se/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:40 PM
SickTheory SickTheory is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 43
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by john5193 View Post
You aren't the only one with this issue. I've done every optimization on my windows system and am having hang ups and freezez too. They normally only last one or two seconds, but there have been the occasional 5 second freeze. Can't post a sandra at the moment, but I think it's a PT thing and not system thing. PT 9 did not have this issue. Do you have Delay Comp set to max or long? It could very well be the system having to reset the compensation on the max setting.
That is interesting to hear because I thought it was my system freezing. I have it happen when I open lets say a reverb send to make an adjustment and buy the time it actually stop freezing I am past the point where i need the adjustment. I am curious, is this happening on MACs too?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:44 PM
SickTheory SickTheory is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 43
Smile Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by grendizer View Post
are you guys working on big sessions?
Whats considered a big session. I have 10 Audio, 5 (MIDI) Instrument, 3 AUX sends and Master Fader. I don't consider that big and freezing shouldn't happen. Pro Tools 9 didn't freeze up even with 3 times as many tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-01-2011, 02:35 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 539
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

I had the same issue and after contacting Sweetwater and dumping all the prefs etc it didn't help.
So I wiped the machine clean and reloaded everything from Windows all the way up and it is still happening.

I have a i7 quad core processor and 12 gigs of ram so it is not the system and as most people have stated, it did not happen in PT9.
I would go back to 9 but I LOVE the 32bit files!!! It is a dream come true for a WaveLab user!!

Just glad and sad all at the same time that I am not the only one.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-01-2011, 08:31 PM
Alexmc1988 Alexmc1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

I am having this issue now as well. It never happened in PT9 even with pretty large sessions. I am working on one now that is only 1 audio track, 1 instrument track(Mini Grand) a couple of auxs and a few plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:29 PM
john5193 john5193 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

Yeah, at this point I'm thinking it's an actual error within PT itself. I've gotten used to it (at least it's not as bad as having to rewind tape), but hopefully it is fixed soon.
__________________
Wizarding Status REVOKED until I clean out my link box.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-03-2011, 09:43 PM
Alexmc1988 Alexmc1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

I don't guess anyone has stumbled upon a fix for this? I'm not sure if my system is getting worse or I am just getting irritable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:30 AM
H-Musikk H-Musikk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 95
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by john5193 View Post
hopefully it is fixed soon.
+1
__________________
Regards
www.h-musikk.no/english.html
Norway
ASUS X99-E, Intel Core i7-6850K, Noctua NH-U9S, Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2133MHz 16GB, Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD (System), Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SSD (Data), Samsung 850 EVO 1TB 2.5" SSD (Sample), WD Desktop Black 1TB 3.5" (Audio), Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060, Corsair RM750x 750W, Samsung 34" LED Curved, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, Cakewalk by BandLab, Pro Tools 2019
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-05-2011, 09:35 AM
Alexmc1988 Alexmc1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

Ok so this seems to have helped my case out, at least for now. I had the Virtual Memory Page File turned off on my computer trying to save room on my SSD. I turned it back on and set it to "Automatically manage paging file size for all drives". This seems to have fixed my freezing problems.

I hope this helps!

If you need help on where to check this let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-05-2011, 10:04 AM
john5193 john5193 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 Freezes

I'll give that a go. I'm tracking right this second so when the band takes a break I'll make the change and see if that helps. Keeping the fingers crossed.
__________________
Wizarding Status REVOKED until I clean out my link box.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 10.0.1 freezes ewlewl macOS 3 11-02-2012 03:39 PM
Pro Tools HD freezes mac pro gaspari99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 12-22-2009 02:38 PM
pro tools freezes uzi B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-26-2009 07:29 AM
pro tools freezes LonnyS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-05-2006 02:19 PM
Pro Tools Freezes Up TMCguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-09-2005 11:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com