Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:05 PM
markshan markshan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 158
Default Overclocking and Protools

I see people on here talk about how much CPU this or that plug-in uses, but I never notice any discussion on overclocking. Seems to me a few extra % of speed could really help in some situations. I got my 2.8g up to 3.2 so far with no problems. However, I also know that DAWs in general and PT in particular are very finicky about the setup on which they run, so I do get a bit nervous about "unsupported modifications".

Just curious, do any of you guys overclock and what do you see as the pros and cons?

Thanks.
__________________
001, LE6.4cs69, XP Pro SP1, P4 2.8, 1 G Ram, Asus P4GE-MX board
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:49 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

You'll wanna talk to Matt P and Powerjoe.
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:47 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

Could you imagine a Overclocked Quad!




filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:52 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

Quote:
Could you imagine a Overclocked Quad!




filosofem
Me and Matt P were just talkin' about it 5 minutes ago.
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2006, 02:32 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2006, 04:32 PM
markshan markshan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 158
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

Quote:
You'll wanna talk to Matt P and Powerjoe.
I haven't been here long enough to know who they are, but I would love to hear their thoughts (I assume from your post that they must overclock their Protools machines, presumably successfully).
__________________
001, LE6.4cs69, XP Pro SP1, P4 2.8, 1 G Ram, Asus P4GE-MX board
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2006, 05:14 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

Matt P and Powerjoe just overclocked an A8N-E board with an Opteron 165 CPU to a crazy stable speed. But, powerjoe has some kick butt ram to do this that is very rare these days.

I'm sure they will reply when they see this post.

Maybe I should OC the Quad.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2006, 06:53 PM
markshan markshan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 158
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

I checked some of Powerjoe's old posts. It seems that he is an AMD guy (as most overclockers are). Will he want to talk to me when he sees "P4" in my tagline?
__________________
001, LE6.4cs69, XP Pro SP1, P4 2.8, 1 G Ram, Asus P4GE-MX board
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-2006, 06:55 PM
markshan markshan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 158
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

BTW, I'm not looking to double my speed, put in watercooling or anything like that. I am just very pragmatically thinking that if I can get a stable 15-30% boost in performance by changing a BIOS setting, is there some reason that I shouldn't?
__________________
001, LE6.4cs69, XP Pro SP1, P4 2.8, 1 G Ram, Asus P4GE-MX board
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-14-2006, 06:58 PM
Matt P Matt P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 725
Default Re: Overclocking and Protools

Hey Markshan,

I have Over Clocked every CPU I ever had since the day of the 386.
As far as for PTLE It works very well if take the time to do it right.
What I mean by this is you need to buy quality RAM, Power Supply, Cooling, etc...
Also the key is to do proper testing for stability of your system.
I have found that what may work for Gamers doesn’t always apply to DAW’s.
Do to PTLE interface and how it is hooked up PCI, USB, and Firewire.
Right now my system is using a DFI NF3 250GB motherboard, 1 GB of Kingston Hyper-X (2-2-2-5 BH5) at a FSB of 250, and a AMD Athlon 64 754 3700+ (2.4GHZ)OC to 3GHZ 12x250 running at Max temp of 45C with a home built water cooling system. Very quite I might also add. This why I got away from phase changed cooling system that I built, it was way too loud.
So yes PTLE does work in a system that is OC’ed.
The Pro's are more power.
The Con's the cost of good parts, no guarentee that it will work or the parts will last for their rated life, also voids all warranties .
The biggest warning I give is don't do it if you can't afford to lose it all.
Also be very methodical and do it in small incerements with lots of testing such as Prime 95 and Memtest.
If you have any more questions about OCing just post.


Matt
__________________
"To Record Music Is All That Really Matter's!"
"When Not Dealing with the Darkside!"
Yoda (HOBO MASTER)"I'm Back from the NORTH POLE!"

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking LadyElectrikStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-13-2004 09:41 PM
Overclocking rustle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-16-2004 03:37 AM
Overclocking CPU Joz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-19-2004 01:02 AM
More on overclocking....... greenroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-10-2003 12:41 PM
overclocking RDOG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-16-2002 06:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com