Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:30 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 189
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
True. It's literally stops your work. Pretty sure it should be priority 1. For years now.
Yeah, you're totally right, in a professional session my client questioned 'pops and clicks' in the audio on playback (the CPU spikes ) this is just a session with a single stereo track!

That's the first time as a 20 year PT user ..damn! Ultimate making me look bad!


They need to get a handle on this issue 100%
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:48 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 550
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
Yeah, you're totally right, in a professional session my client questioned 'pops and clicks' in the audio on playback (the CPU spikes ) this is just a session with a single stereo track!



That's the first time as a 20 year PT user ..damn! Ultimate making me look bad!





They need to get a handle on this issue 100%


It’s been years!! Unbelievable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
10.14.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2019.12

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2019.12
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05-02-2018, 07:34 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondschwin View Post
On one hand yes Apple keeps changing things. On the other hand the CPU spikes and 9xxx errors have been around through literally dozens of point releases and multiple major releases.... I don’t care what tough times they think they are having, I haven’t seen this level of failure with critical functionality from any other major software dev.
Oh yeah, 2018.4 is broken. Just making a distinction ...

The 2018.4 release clearly introduced a specific bug on specific machines. This bug makes even simple playback (like one stereo track) overload / crash a supported computer just by PT showing itself on the screen. So weird. Should've been detected by the QA.

The 9xxx errors we've had for years, at least to me, is more like generally poor performance of Pro Tools or generally not good enough coding by the Pro Tools development team.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl x.x.x · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 12C24T @3.46GHz · 48GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 05-02-2018, 07:34 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 877
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

What's sad is I'm just used to dealing with it. Have numerous workarounds. Remember protools 5 days fondly.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05-03-2018, 02:36 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 171
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Last week I was talking about graphic probelms with a plugin in my mixbus. Maybe there's a relation to this topic. I wasn't able to figure out the exact causes. All I could do was disableling the plugin. I didn't want too, though.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=398606
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-03-2018, 07:18 AM
Franklyn Franklyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 241
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

I opend a new thread for all people who work with big 3rd party plugin chains on mixbus and aux busses. this workflow produces reconstructable 9173 errors on all systems and CPUs

I have "studied" this problem the last 3 years :)

you can also vote for my request in the PT ideascale:

https://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd...ze/309189-3779

This 9173 error do not depend on you system or your hard drive or hyper threading or OS, ... ! Its the same on all systems.

Franklyn
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-04-2018, 10:00 PM
sounds1981 sounds1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

I just want to give more a year on my subscription. Ohhhh my God
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-04-2018, 10:20 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sounds1981 View Post
I just want to give more a year on my subscription. Ohhhh my God
Welcome to the forum.
I don’t get it. Care to elaborate?
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl x.x.x · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 12C24T @3.46GHz · 48GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-04-2018, 10:42 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 304
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

like a good relationship. hard to let go
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-04-2018, 10:51 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,699
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate CPU Spikes.. come on!!!!

Or like a bad one that people are too scared to let go.

In the hope that the abuser will change,

What do they say hope in one hand.....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Ultimate YYR123 General Discussion 13 04-08-2018 11:24 PM
CPU Spikes in Pro Tools 10, 11, and 12. julia12345 macOS 9 11-25-2015 08:07 AM
How to add Komplete 8 Ultimate into Pro Tools 10 LE Ryan Tunis Pro Tools 10 3 02-02-2012 03:13 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com