Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:22 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Thumbs up Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Though this would be good for an Windows-based HD DAW. This uses the new Nehalem chips (Socket 1366), and includes Six PCIe slots. More than enough for a GPU and three or four HD|Accel Cards. There is no Firewire though, but that can be solved with a PCIe expansion card. Digi should test and certify this board. As far as the layout goes, this is the best one yet! Now where is those new Dual-Socket Nehalm Server chips at....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131358
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro

Last edited by M-ManLA; 03-11-2009 at 11:07 PM. Reason: Spelled "Nehalem" Wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2009, 07:04 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

I already suggested this board to Digi a several months back for those exact reasons. HD4 or 5 PCIe on modern Quad power with Hyperthreading....All of the i7 stuff uses the same chipset (X58) so they could qualify the chipset for LE at the same time.

I actually have the Revolution board sitting here with the approved ADS PYRO PCIe FW card.

We're already testing this stuff on the LE side of things. Its a RTAS monster

I have pretty much determined that the PCIe HD cards will fit with no interference. I could really use a tracing out line of a actual HD card to verify this though. If anybody had a spare HD PCIe card they could trace and scan or email me or preferably snailmail.

Since I don't have HD PCIe I would be real interested to find some body that did and was willing to to spend a couple hours installing a card or two to see if this board would work. I would be willing to travel within say a 250 mile radius of Cleveland to attempt this. Any takers?

These boards are running fine with LE and Windows 32bit.

This is the DIY PCIe solution that everybody has been waiting for.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2009, 12:29 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 679
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Here is one with a pci slot


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131352
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2009, 02:04 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsound Recording View Post
I think the whole idea here is to ditch PCI/PCI-X.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2009, 02:14 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 679
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Yea, But sometimes folks need the PCI slot for a UAD1 card or somthing

I am going to build a Dual quade core soon. Not sure what board yet.
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2009, 07:59 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsound Recording View Post
Yea, But sometimes folks need the PCI slot for a UAD1 card or somthing

I am going to build a Dual quade core soon. Not sure what board yet.

I would wait until Mac issues the new i7 based Mac Pros and Digi has approved them and then look for a board that is as close as possible.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2009, 01:55 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsound Recording View Post
Yea, But sometimes folks need the PCI slot for a UAD1 card or somthing

I am going to build a Dual quade core soon. Not sure what board yet.
That is why God made UAD cards in a PCIe variety! And that is why he has a crossgrade policy.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2009, 10:59 PM
GENX GENX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I think the whole idea here is to ditch PCI/PCI-X.
I have not given up on PCI-X yet. Because according to Digi you can't have more than HD3 with PCI-E. But with PCI-X you can run up to 6

I have been investigating this piece of new hardware here
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131374
because I have legacy pci-x and uad1 etc, but want to keep my investment but upgrade to faster cpu for RTAS instances.

While it is a server motherboard, I wonder if it could also be a workstation for my PT rig?

Any thoughts? Perhaps someone has been down a similar path here........
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2009, 09:25 AM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

can you tell me wich motherboard can take 6 full length PCI-X card ???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2009, 12:27 PM
usastra usastra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: Asus P6T6 WS Revolution*All PCIe!!!*

Quote:
Originally Posted by GENX View Post
I have not given up on PCI-X yet. Because according to Digi you can't have more than HD3 with PCI-E. But with PCI-X you can run up to 6
I think Digi supports HD7 PCIe with the PCIe 2 PCIe chassis.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UMEK 'Revolution @ Space' Co-production Contest soundspy007 General Discussion 0 07-14-2010 08:16 AM
Revolution 7.1 w/ Pro Tools LE? Jason North 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-21-2007 12:05 PM
M-Audio Revolution 7.1 Sound Card support Chuck's Films Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-18-2006 06:15 PM
A plugin revolution :) John P Bradshaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 10-30-2004 11:16 PM
Revolution 7.1 Soundcard?? tomayto Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-26-2003 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com