Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-20-2011, 08:30 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Something's definitely going on there, because the system usage shouldn't be near 62% with that few tracks. Running that on my 2007 Imac doesn't come anywhere near that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:33 AM
TurboD TurboD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Again, thanks for your replies chaps.

The computer came installed with 3GB in 6x 512k cards. I then augmented them with a pair of 2GB cards from Crucial. The 2GB cards occupy slots 1&2 on the first riser.

The internal drive is a nice idea, but like I say, on my old G5 I can stream sessions of 80+ tracks without a problem with hard drive speed so I'm hesitant to say that it might be part of the issue.

My playback dialogue settings are:

H/W Buffer Size: 1024 samples
Host Processors: 4 Processors (maximum)
CPU Usage limit: 95%
Delay Compensation: Long
DAE Buffer Size: Level 2
Cache Size: Normal
Plug-in Streaming: Optimized for streaming content from audio drives

As I say, the computer itself is rather sluggish for what should be a fairly well-specced machine. It is not the newest, but the G5 boots up more quickly and takes less time to launch programs. There are also occasional graphics glitches.

The graphics card has been upgraded by the previous owner. Any chance that it might be hogging CPU and causing the problems?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:41 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlone View Post
Better yet, just make sure it's set to an odd number or at least 1 less than the total number you have.
Try what Carlone said. Take it back to 3 processors.

Carl
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-23-2011, 04:06 AM
Darney Darney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 408
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboD View Post
Again, thanks for your replies chaps.


H/W Buffer Size: 1024 samples
Host Processors: 4 Processors (maximum)
CPU Usage limit: 95%
Delay Compensation: Long
DAE Buffer Size: Level 2
Cache Size: Normal
Plug-in Streaming: Optimized for streaming content from audio drives

As I say, the computer itself is rather sluggish for what should be a fairly well-specced machine. It is not the newest, but the G5 boots up more quickly and takes less time to launch programs. There are also occasional graphics glitches.

The graphics card has been upgraded by the previous owner. Any chance that it might be hogging CPU and causing the problems?
Turn off streaming content.
Using a larger Plug-In Streaming Buffer Size leaves less system memory for other tasks. The default setting of 250 ms (Level 2) is recommended unless you are experiencing problems with the reliability of streaming playback from disk. Unless you're using Structure, make is as low as you can.
__________________
“What fresh hell is this?” - Dorothy S. Parker
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-23-2011, 10:03 AM
LanceK LanceK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 226
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Again : 10.6.7 is NOT qualified by Avid. Bring it back to 10.6.6
__________________
System Details: Macbook Pro 17"
OS 10.7.5
PT 10.0
8 gig ram
FW Drives (Multiple)
eSATA Drives (Multiple)

lance.crive@bigpond.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-23-2011, 10:28 AM
TurboD TurboD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

OK, thanks for all your ideas, much appreciated!

Any thoughts on why the computer itself might be slow outside of Pro Tools? Like I say, the boot-up on it is arduously slow, slower than my G5 and nowhere near the same as the Mac Pros at the studio.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:23 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboD View Post
OK, thanks for all your ideas, much appreciated!

Any thoughts on why the computer itself might be slow outside of Pro Tools? Like I say, the boot-up on it is arduously slow, slower than my G5 and nowhere near the same as the Mac Pros at the studio.
I would first change the video card, especially if it's glitching like you mentioned. Then only use matching ram, then reinstall.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:01 AM
Darney Darney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Terre Haute
Posts: 408
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboD View Post
OK, thanks for all your ideas, much appreciated!

Any thoughts on why the computer itself might be slow outside of Pro Tools? Like I say, the boot-up on it is arduously slow, slower than my G5 and nowhere near the same as the Mac Pros at the studio.
I suspect strongly that your home Mac has some apps running in the background. My old G5 is exactly the same machine as the G5 I use at work, and the one at home boots about 5x quicker than my work machine as I have Entourage, Spotlight, etc. running on it.
I'd check to see what apps are installed/running at startup. Have you checked Activity Monitor?
__________________
“What fresh hell is this?” - Dorothy S. Parker
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-25-2011, 10:12 AM
TurboD TurboD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

Activity Monitor is showing nothing running other than the tiniest of scripts. 0.8% of CPU in action when nothing is running.

I have taken out all of the 512mb sticks of RAM and PT is now a lot happier! Many thanks to those who suggested it. Looks like I'll be getting rid of these!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-26-2011, 03:19 AM
Siddhant Bhatia Siddhant Bhatia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: India
Posts: 69
Default Re: Is this typical performance?

How can the computer boot up be real slow? Funny that is ... definitely something to do with RAM there ....

Also ... all my machines work fine with 10.6.7 ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typical Car EQ Settings? timmy4402 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-21-2007 10:48 AM
Typical Car Stereo EQ? timmy4402 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-20-2007 11:50 AM
wat r typical eg settings for?? Jesus H. Tips & Tricks 5 01-17-2005 02:24 PM
System Performance - Is this typical? Mightypudge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-28-2002 10:33 AM
let me know if this sounds typical or what... moe green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-27-2001 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com