Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:58 PM
Eric Heil Eric Heil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Posts: 235
Default Regions in session pointing to wrong hard drive

Hi All !

Here's the scoop. I made copies of my sessions and thier associated audio files to another hard drive for the puposes of trimming down the size of the audio files for export onto CD without affecting the original audio files on the primary audio drive. All was going swimmingly until I went back and noticed that the first session's audio files were still linked to the primary drive and that the needed files were not copied. I exported the regions as files to the correct folder and they show up there ok. I tried to import the new files and drag those regions back into the session but that does not put the regions back in exactly the same point on the time ruler and therefore put them out of sync with those files in the session that were linked to the correct hard drive.

NOW ! How do I un-link the primary drive to the session and re-link to the correct drive?
Is there an alternative method for making complete session and audio file copies for my purposes without affecting the original sessions at all?

More background:

7separately recorded songs all drawing from the same audio file.

Any help you marvelous wizzards of audio magic can provide will meet with my everlasting thanks !

Eric
__________________
"Done right, on time and on budget..."

Eric Heil
Angelic Productions, LLC
More Pro Tools rigs than I can shake a stick at...
www.AngelicLive.com
FaceBook Me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2004, 10:29 AM
Eric Heil Eric Heil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Posts: 235
Default Re: Regions in session pointing to wrong hard drive

bump
__________________
"Done right, on time and on budget..."

Eric Heil
Angelic Productions, LLC
More Pro Tools rigs than I can shake a stick at...
www.AngelicLive.com
FaceBook Me!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2004, 11:07 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Regions in session pointing to wrong hard drive

You're supposed to use Save Session Copy In.... You'll have to unmount the original drive or rename the folder if you don't... but simply copying files around outside of Pro Tools is flirting with disaster.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fade file in the wrong hard drive rrubbenn macOS 4 02-24-2011 06:23 AM
Saving new session on Hard Drive crownstatus Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 08-17-2008 07:54 PM
Starting a New Session on a Different Hard Drive ray271 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-10-2006 05:23 PM
PT pointing to wrong files Nathanael Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2005 01:16 AM
cannot open session because of new hard drive.. chooseastar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 09-14-2003 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com