Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:41 AM
mike_mccue mike_mccue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Windows laptop onboard audio?

If PT9 runs either ASIO or Core Audio drivers it seems like most Windows OS laptops will require a external device that uses ASIO.

I don't know of any onboard audio that uses a ASIO driver so I am thinking you will always have to hook up to some external sound device.

Yes? No?

I am just trying to learn.

Thanks.

best regards,
mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:44 AM
lego lego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 365
Default Re: Windows laptop onboard audio?

Almost every audio device can be used with ASIO4ALL.
__________________
"The Mackey Big Knob is, you press little button and they can hear through the headphones, you can say whatever you wanted to them without you having to yell." by Tad Donley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:34 AM
mike_mccue mike_mccue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Windows laptop onboard audio?

I've never thought about that. Is that true for stuff like a Realtek audio chip on board a Win PC laptop?

I am familiar with ASIO4ALL and run ASIO on 3 MOTU devices that I own.

I was wondering if I would be able to use PT9 on the Realtek that is on my Toshiba laptop. I did not think it would use a ASIO driver.

Please advise.

Thanks.

best regards,
mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,630
Default Re: Windows laptop onboard audio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lego View Post
Almost every audio device can be used with ASIO4ALL.
This may be correct BUT......BIG BUT....ASIO4All screwed my system so that PT9 would not see my 003. Uninstall ASIO4All and the 003 shows up and works fine. Not sure what's going on there, but I tested 3 times and made sure I had the latest version.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2010, 11:03 AM
lego lego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 365
Default Re: Windows laptop onboard audio?

I use PT9 with my Conexant onboard audio via ASIO4ALL. I also have 002, 003 and M-Audio 2626 and there are no conflicts.
__________________
"The Mackey Big Knob is, you press little button and they can hear through the headphones, you can say whatever you wanted to them without you having to yell." by Tad Donley
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2010, 11:18 AM
mike_mccue mike_mccue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Windows laptop onboard audio?

Thank You for explaining the specifics.

best regards,
mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBOX2PRO + Onboard Audio ozzlvlosis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-27-2012 08:04 AM
Audio Interface for ASUS Windows 7 Laptop Darzel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2011 05:26 PM
PT9 No Audio (windows 7 laptop) Help please! wuzlow Pro Tools 9 4 11-24-2010 04:39 PM
USB Audio Device is not compatible with this version of Windows (Vista Laptop). jphaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-04-2010 07:09 PM
Disable Onboard Audio? zombie69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-04-2006 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com