Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-12-2010, 05:49 PM

Default Click / Grid doesn't line up anymore

Hi all hopefully someone here can help. I've been operating Pro Tools for around 10 years, and haven't run into this one yet...

I work with a client who will do a bunch of recording at his house on his Pro Tools system. He then brings the sessions to me, and we'll record the vocals, and redo some guitars. Then I mix the tracks. In the last session he brought me, the click and grid do not line up with the tracks on my system. The click is not steady when soloed by itself either. I've gone into the tempo area, and reset the bpm to what it should be, but it doesn't change anything.

Is there any other way to reset tempo of the song? It doesn't make sense to me. The only thing that I can think of is that he has PT 8.x, and I'm using 7.4; but, I've done this before with him when he has had PT 8, and did not have the problem.

Thanks.
Old 09-12-2010, 06:34 PM

Default Re: Click / Grid doesn't line up anymore

Make sure your on a grid mode ,not slip mode .And that your at the same sample rate.
Old 09-12-2010, 09:50 PM

So does the click speed up and slow down? That is totally odd. I have read something somewhere about this years ago but for the life of me I cannot remember what it was......although something in the fog of my memory tells me it was related to a specific version of PT....I could be wrong.

Did you go check the session settings and is it a matter of trashing prefs...maybe something in how he set his last session is different to how you normally do it?