Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2014, 06:39 AM
keenonrush keenonrush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: charlotte, nc
Posts: 1
Default upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

So I updated ios to Yosimite and now when I try to open a session, really all the sessions, that i created before the update Pro tools simply doestn't open the session. It brings up the uploading tracks screen and just the click track trying to be opened. I let it sit there for 20 minutes and still no progress. Any suggestions on what to do?



KR
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2014, 06:42 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,606
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Quote:
Originally Posted by keenonrush View Post
So I updated ios to Yosimite and now when I try to open a session, really all the sessions, that i created before the update Pro tools simply doestn't open the session. It brings up the uploading tracks screen and just the click track trying to be opened. I let it sit there for 20 minutes and still no progress. Any suggestions on what to do?



KR
Hi,

Can you open a new blank session ok?

If you can open a new session then once opened try using import session data and try just one track at a time?

Are all your plugins up to date?

Whats your system specs? and pro tools versions used?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2014, 04:57 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 871
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Do any of these session that don't open have either NI Guitar Rig or Maschine in them?
If so, remove the AVID Core audio plugin from:

MacHD > Library > Audio > Plug-Ins > HAL > "in here"

.....and re-boot

Regards,
Matt
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX8+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2014, 09:43 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,194
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

So since ProTools isn't even remotely supported in Yosemite yet, and there have been various issues here on the DUC, why the hell would you update? Hopefully you backed up your old OS and can restore it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2014, 09:45 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 871
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

What are some of the other issues? It's working fantastically here (I have a disk clone to fall back on if needed, however, I have various other reasons to have upgraded).
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX8+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2014, 01:03 AM
beckycordova@yahoo.com beckycordova@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: newhall
Posts: 1
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

I have an LE8 m box and bought a Mac Mini OS 10.9 Maverick...can you tell me what I have to do to get My pro tools to be compatible with my m box?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2014, 01:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,322
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Quote:
Originally Posted by keenonrush View Post
So I updated ios to Yosimite and now when I try to open a session, really all the sessions, that i created before the update Pro tools simply doestn't open the session. It brings up the uploading tracks screen and just the click track trying to be opened. I let it sit there for 20 minutes and still no progress. Any suggestions on what to do?



KR
I had no such problems. Did you upgrade old system to Yosemite, or did you do as you should and erase the system drive first?

Here are the instructions for creating the installer boot stick.

Welcome to the forum :)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2014, 01:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,322
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Quote:
Originally Posted by beckycordova@yahoo.com View Post
I have an LE8 m box and bought a Mac Mini OS 10.9 Maverick...can you tell me what I have to do to get My pro tools to be compatible with my m box?
PT LE8 requires Snow Leopard (10.6.8) so if you mean you bought new Mac Mini that comes with Mavericks, then no, your system is not compatible. You need to upgrade PT LE8 to PT11 but wait until November.

Here is the compatibility information regarding PT LE in case you want to be looking for old compatible computer for it instead of upgrading software.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2014, 05:10 AM
perh perh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Guitar Rig 5 and Machine has problems with their respective driver software. If you can work without you can remove the driver from:

./Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Hardware/NIHardwareAgent

- and you should be fine, until an upgrade is provided by NI.

Apart from broken menu's Pro Tools 10 is working fine here. Not my main DAW anymore, but did some fixing on a mix yesterday and no problems at all.

Still think that Avid should have some respect to customers complaing on nearly a daily basis for more that a year, and either fix these very minor but annoying problems or at least come out of the bush and tell why they won't do it. "Fight like a man" - as they say.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2014, 03:54 PM
dtruitt dtruitt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Decatur
Posts: 9
Default Re: upgrade to Yosemite now old sessions will not open

Perth - that was awesome! I would never have figured that out! And I can certainly work without Guitar Rig 5. Thanks bunches!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2013 12:14 PM
8.04 will not open old sessions on xp latiffee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-09-2010 03:17 PM
sessions always open with mix window track list open jaglance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-03-2009 07:03 PM
Can you open V8 sessions in 7.4? dbjp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-10-2009 09:47 PM
PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions! chanlon25 Post - Surround - Video 4 03-03-2009 11:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com