Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2011, 09:28 AM
Neale Eckstein's Avatar
Neale Eckstein Neale Eckstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 122
Default MC mix fader doesn't respond to touch

I just did a search of the forum and can't find anyone reporting this problem. Basically, the fader won't move, even before Pro Tools is launched. It doesn't seem to recognize that it's being touched. I had this happen on my first MC mix with fader #7 and after a couple of attempts to fix it, Euphonix swapped out the unit for me. Now the problem has returned after about 4 months on the replacement unit on fader #1.

The fader doesn't pair up properly in the hardware test and swapping the plastic touch cap or taking it off to make better touch contact has no effect on the problem. I thought I'd try to research to see if this has been a common problem or is something strange going on particular to my studio before I call them again.

All the other functions of the fader strip work properly and if I move the fader within pro tools, the fader on the mix will move accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:10 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: MC mix fader doesn't respond to touch

Please, do not be offended, just to rule out the most obvious question - you do always put your finger "in" the button and never push it from "below"?

I haven't heard of anyone else having this problem with the MC Mix and mine's working just fine... No noise and no fader problems so far.
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:27 AM
Neale Eckstein's Avatar
Neale Eckstein Neale Eckstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 122
Default Re: MC mix fader doesn't respond to touch

Not offended, but that's not it unfortunately. I've had HUIs, Mackie Controls, etc. I tried the hand cream on the finger tips, etc and gotten other people to touch them just to make sure it's not me. Got the latest version of PT and the latest firmware. I've cleaned out all the software and started from scratch, but even with no ethernet cable, the first fader resists movement. You can force it, but it bounces back. Normally before Pro Tools is launched all the faders will move freely.

What I'm baffled about is that this is my second unit that's developed the same issue and I don't see anyone else reporting this issue on the forum.

Neale
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:44 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: MC mix fader doesn't respond to touch

You seem to have done almost everything. Are your mixing faders in the Pro Tools software marked Latch or Read and write? Do you have anyone with Logic 9 software so you can test if it behaves the same in Logic?

(What is the serial number of those two MC Mix? Are they manufactured at the same time?)
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader not responding to touch PTPerson ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 06-09-2012 01:29 AM
C24 fader touch issues ziggy2282 ICON & C|24 9 02-15-2012 12:22 PM
D-Control Fader Module Not respond Xenon ICON & C|24 3 11-06-2006 02:11 AM
Fader doesn't respond. Quicktime errors. Sunzate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-03-2005 05:50 PM
01v...Does Protools respond to it's fader moves? inimitable_ingress 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-12-2002 01:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com