Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-01-2010, 02:45 AM

Red face Best effective way to program grooves by hand in Superior Drummer 2/Pro Tools 8 LE?

I have used in the past the EZDrummer and DKFH modules. My way to comfortably program the drums note for note by hand was with the midi editor in Guitar Pro (it was like writing, very quick and comfortably) but at some point I understand that I was lost some possibilities. Now Im using Pro Tools 8 LE and Superior Drummer 2. I have running Superior 2 without problems but I found that programming Midi notes with the Midi Editor in PT is not comfortably. Some sounds are very distant . Im new in PT and in Superior 2. Im studying the midi options of PT, even Im thinking in get the dvd Midi Explained of Groove3 but if you can teach me something about your methods, it will be of much help.

The question is: How I can program my drums by hand with effectiveness and comfortably with Superior 2 and Pro Tools 8?

Any tip is welcome! :)
Old 09-01-2010, 04:15 AM

Default Re: Best effective way to program grooves by hand in Superior Drummer 2/Pro Tools 8 L

patience and practice....

i came from programing drums in fl studio (which is much more instant gratification)

but once you get use to the midi editor in pt....you will love it...
everything is right there
Old 09-01-2010, 07:08 AM

Default Re: Best effective way to program grooves by hand in Superior Drummer 2/Pro Tools 8 L

You say the sounds are distant. What do you mean by that? Do they sound quieter? It could be that you're accidently doing something to change the velocity. Or it could be that the Superior Drummer room mics are too high up in the mixer.