Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:20 PM
CRD CRD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 7
Default Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

I just got a used mid 08 iMac with Lion, or Mountain Lion, not sure. In any case, the last time I used PT, it was on Windows and I needed an mbox. I was told that with PT10 that was no longer the case, I also heard something about Core Audio. Will I be able to record vocal tracks and instrumental tracks without plugging in to an mbox? With Core Audio? I am a newbie so specifics are appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:51 PM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,108
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

Correct. With PT10 an Avid interface is no longer mandatory. Any I/O that supports Core Audio should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2013, 04:16 PM
CRD CRD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

Thank you Mr. Ogden. Do you know of a list of supported I/O's?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2013, 04:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRD View Post
Thank you Mr. Ogden. Do you know of a list of supported I/O's?
There is no list. Any interface that supports Core Audio is supposed to work. Start by working on what exact inputs and outputs you need and your price range. there are many to choose from. A benefit of purchasing an Mbox Pro or Eleven rack is they are bundled with Pro Tools 10.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2013, 05:09 PM
CRD CRD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

Mr. Ramm by inputs and outputs, simply, you are referring to the mic, or the cord? Right? Forgive my ignorance, I am usually the person behind the mic and not the 'Mac' or boards.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:17 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,794
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

He means how many mic inputs, how many line inputs, how many sources do you need to record at one time. Some interfaces only have 2 inputs, some have a lot more. If we knew how many you need, we could suggest some interfaces for you that have the right amount of inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,662
Default Re: Do I need an Mbox with PT10 and an iMac?

Yep lots of things to think about.

Your budget. How many Mic inputs, how many instrument DI (aka direct input for guitar/bass) inputs, how many line level inputs, how many SPDIF, how many ADAT, inputs etc. How many line level outputs (for speakers/monitors or headphone cue mixes via headphone amps, or reamping guitar and bass tracks) or built in headphone outs. Do you need any insert loops in the mic preamp for outboard hardware gear (e.g. compressors). Do you need low/zero latency hardware monitoring support in the interface (to give zero/low latency monitoring for artists). Do you need/want to be able to sweeten those zero/low latency monitoring with in-the-interface-box effects like reverb? Do you want Firewire or USB or Thunderbolt for the bus interface? How good is the audio quality of the interface/preamps/converters etc.? What is the vendors support like... especially keeping drivers current with new OS releases. And so on.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10, Imac and 002 problem lonestarparis Pro Tools 10 4 11-02-2013 04:55 PM
IMac/PT10 Mix Window? zixis9 Pro Tools 10 3 05-20-2013 06:20 AM
Mbox 2 Pro, iMac Thunderbolt and PT10 compatibility Maars macOS 15 05-06-2013 02:52 PM
Optimizing PT10 with my iMac World Spirit macOS 9 02-19-2012 07:41 AM
PT10 - iMac Questions auralicious Pro Tools 10 1 02-02-2012 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com