Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2002, 09:58 AM
jackruston jackruston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wimbledon UK
Posts: 497
Default Delay

Say I have an audio track 1, with an eq inserted (plug in). I bus it to an auxiliary input with a hardware compressor inserted. I now need to calculate the delay generated. The plug has a delay, the bus has a delay and the inserted compressor has a delay. If I set this up, the channel delay indicator only tells me how much delay the plug in is introducing. Can I calculate this delay without printing the track and checking for phase problems?
J
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2002, 11:35 AM
EthanMorse EthanMorse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 102
Default Re: Delay

If you're running a 24|MIX system bussing delays are 10samples. Inserts are 2samples(not including the plug in's own delay) pre-fader sends are 3 samples, and post-fader sends are 6 samples.

Its in the appendix of the owner's manual.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2002, 01:22 PM
Mike Tholen Mike Tholen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago
Posts: 329
Default Re: Delay

LATENCY=The BIGGEST down fall of ANY digital system. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
analog kicks it's #@% again...
mix analog=no worries...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2002, 01:23 PM
jackruston jackruston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wimbledon UK
Posts: 497
Default Re: Delay

I'm running HD. It does say in the manual you're right. Thanks. Pity it doesnt do it automatically.
J
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2002, 07:48 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Delay

To be absolutely sure, I would put a sine wave on your first track.

Then make a second track and put an inverted (Phase) sine wave on this track. nudge this audio 1 sample at a time until it disappears.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2002, 10:39 AM
bjorn for a reason bjorn for a reason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 297
Default Re: Delay

As a committed hybrid PT+analog user, I'm constantly amazed by the misinformation spread here. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] No delay or phase problems mixing analog? thats one of the most moronic statements i've ever heard. Cmon Mike you know better! The reality is you've got to watch these issues on any recording system regardless of format. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2002, 03:59 PM
Mike Tholen Mike Tholen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago
Posts: 329
Default Re: Delay

Quote:
Originally posted by bjorn for a reason:
As a committed hybrid PT+analog user, I'm constantly amazed by the misinformation spread here. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] No delay or phase problems mixing analog? thats one of the most moronic statements i've ever heard. Cmon Mike you know better! The reality is you've got to watch these issues on any recording system regardless of format. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">yeah well in the analog world, which is pure and simple physics those issues are 'par for the course'
whereas with digital it's an assload more to deal with. and is terribly induced.
sorry, but I'd much rather be doing something creative than moving regions around constantly as I add/subtract plugs... use an aux...buss...subgroups with plugs on'em... [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
does that make more sense to you?
if not then I suggest you get a gig not in the music side of audio. maybe you do post?

I'm into this **** but man do I hate latency. [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Click, D-verb, Extra Long Delay II, Short Delay II are missing in PT10 UPGRADE ruxandra Windows 6 06-20-2012 05:29 PM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound macOS 1 01-27-2012 11:10 AM
Trigger to midi delay vs Microphone lack of delay DrumEatDrum The Drum Room 2 04-12-2010 08:45 PM
volume/peak/delay, delay shown in samples or ms? Ziko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-29-2008 04:11 PM
System Delay by 3209 samples giving a 2 frame pre delay tom.joyce Post - Surround - Video 8 05-17-2007 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com