Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2005, 02:58 PM
cletus cletus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default Syncing Drum Machine to Pro Tools

Hey there everybody, not new to recording but just starting to get into midi. I wanted to know how to sync a drum machine to PT7. I'm going line in to my 002 from the drum machine as well as midi. Pro tools does not automatically see the hardware so in OSX I attach new midi device to the 002 in audio midi set up, but from there how do I set protools as the master for MTC?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:44 AM
4string 4string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 40
Default Re: Syncing Drum Machine to Pro Tools

Cletus - did you ever figure out how to sync your drum machine with Pro Tools? I am a newby trying to figure out the same issue. I would like the drum machine to start playing when I 'play' in Pro Tools

Thanks

4string
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:52 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: Syncing Drum Machine to Pro Tools

Open the Session Setup window, check the option for MTC to Port, then choose the port/device from the drop down box that you would like to send MTC to.

Also - double check that your session start time is appropriate and that frame rates match that of your drum machine - you can find these in the upper right of the Session Setup window.

More info can be found in the Synchronization section of the Pro Tool Reference Guide, which you should find under the 'Help' menu in Pro Tools.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
syncing external drum machine yorgo Pro Tools 9 2 02-25-2014 02:30 PM
Trouble Syncing Drum Machine with Pro Tools scottrolfs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-24-2014 06:49 PM
syncing external drum machine MPB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-11-2013 11:54 AM
Syncing drum machine to PT? Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-04-2005 12:05 PM
questions with syncing up my boss drum machine johnnymojo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-02-2004 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com