Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2016, 01:53 PM
ThomasHQ ThomasHQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Hi!
I originally wrote in the Pro Tools Control forum, but maybe it's better suited here.

After updating to Eucon 3.4, the Edit/Mix window follows bank selection has stopped working for me. Am I the only one with this problem?

I usually use an MC Control and two MC Mix, but my MC Control's touchscreen died last friday, so now I'm using the PT Control for iPad instead. the combo was working perfectly before updating. Same settings as before. Also updated to 12.5 to see if that would help, but no.

/Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2016, 02:05 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasHQ View Post
Hi!

I originally wrote in the Pro Tools Control forum, but maybe it's better suited here.



After updating to Eucon 3.4, the Edit/Mix window follows bank selection has stopped working for me. Am I the only one with this problem?



I usually use an MC Control and two MC Mix, but my MC Control's touchscreen died last friday, so now I'm using the PT Control for iPad instead. the combo was working perfectly before updating. Same settings as before. Also updated to 12.5 to see if that would help, but no.



/Thomas


Same here, I was just about to post ...MC control MC Mix x 2
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2016, 02:55 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Bump - I'm eager to hear more info on this.

I haven't taken the plunge on my main workstation, mainly because Windows 7 isn't listed as supported by Eucon 3.4.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2016, 02:57 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

It would be really cool, if for once, they could do an update and test it before they release it imho.... Oh, I'm still wanting control room monitor to work!!
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2016, 03:00 PM
ThomasHQ ThomasHQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Ah ok…too bad it wasn't just something I done wrong then. It's too freaking sad that they have to go brake something that they finally managed to fix after so many years!

So…if you don't need the PT Control's new features, then stay away from this update!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2016, 11:34 AM
guitarist9891 guitarist9891 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 103
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

OSX 10.9.5
EuCon 3.4

Everything is working for me running PT12.4
In fact when I scroll on the iPad app in tracks view both my edit/mix windows scroll along. same thing for bank selection - everything follows the app.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2016, 12:08 PM
ThomasHQ ThomasHQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Interesting! Have you tried using Layouts to bank channels? I always use layouts to bank 16 channels at the time, instead of banking 4 channels at the time.

I know that the mix/edit window follows when scrolling the channels on the iPad, but using layouts worked in 3.3.2. Now I have had to go back to add a "Scroll to track" macro to each layout to scroll to the first channel of each "layout bank" if you understand what I mean?

Interestingly enough, when I now tried the banking buttons on the MC Mix, it will only nudge one track at the time, no matter if I use the Nudge or Bank buttons!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-31-2016, 06:02 PM
Leverson Leverson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 145
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

I'm having trouble with this as well, on both the PT Control app as well as my Artist Control. I know Edit/Mix window follows selection has a history of working/not working in various past updates.

When I select a track on the Artist Control touchscreen tracks mode, or the PT Control tracks mode, that track is selected.... but I'd love the edit window to jump to that track when it's selected off screen. This used to work at one point, and I thought maybe I screwed up a preference setting on my end somewhere, but I checked Edit Window (and Mix Window) Follows Bank Selection and it's still not working for either.

Eucontrol 3.4, Pro Tools 12.4, Mac 10.11.3 El Capitan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2016, 08:09 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 311
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

This is confusing because it sort of worked in 3.3.2, but at the cost of an ugly bug. The bug was that when you have "Edit/Mix window follows bank selection" on in Pro Tools and “Auto Bank to Selected Track” on in EuControl Settings, selecting a track in Pro Tools that was not on the surface would cause the Pro Tools window to scroll that track to the top/left position of Mix/Edit window.

Essentially, a feedback loop was being created that made for a very frustrating experience because the Pro Tools window would be jumping around a lot. The benefit was that you could only enable "Mix window follows bank selection" in Pro Tools, and Pro Tools would bank the selected track on the surface into view. But, this is actually a totally accidental feature! And, we can't currently fix the jumping bug and allow for this feature where Edit/Mix window follows attentioned track. That being said, it is something that would be great to have, but we have to do it the right way.

Also, with "Edit/Mix window follows bank selection" on in Pro Tools and “Auto Bank to Selected Track” on in EuControl Settings, banking the surface will bank Pro Tools so your tracks are always in view. But, don't expect to then scroll Pro Tools, select a track on the surface that is not in view in Pro Tools, then have Pro Tools scroll back to place the selected track into view. That would be the new feature, "Edit/Mix window follows attentioned track".
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2016, 11:37 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Kyle, first let me thank you for taking the time to answer these questions in this thread and the others.

I've held off upgrading my Artist Control/Mix units to the latest Eucon release because I don't want to give up the Pro Tool mix window auto-scrolling with my bank left/right selections on the Artist Mix. This function currently works with 12.5 and the Artist units on the older Eucon.

I haven't had time to study your detailed explanation, but my simple question is if I upgrade to the latest Eucon will the Pro Tools mix window still follow the bank left/right buttons on the Artist Mix?

I'd really like to upgrade for the new surround panner but have been holding off.

Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit/Mix follows bank selection broken…again?? ThomasHQ Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 05-15-2016 05:40 AM
Edit/mix window follows bank selection brandonc23 Pro Tools 12 0 02-20-2016 11:59 AM
Edit/Mix Window Follows Bank Selection maxtn Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 14 04-06-2015 06:30 PM
edit/mix window follows bank selection Eucon/PT9? engininja Artist Series 47 11-23-2014 10:42 PM
Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window.. Focuret Artist Series 17 01-18-2014 04:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com