Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2018, 02:33 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Default Tape plugin, what you guys using?

I have HEAT on my sessions all the time and have always had Slate VTM on the master bus, but today I decided to experiment with waves Kramer and McDSP AC202.

Interesting, as I found Slate VTM to be very subtle compared to Kramer and AC202. I couldn’t get on with Kramer but AC202 I found to have some nice pleasing effects. What I did find annoying about AC202 is that it always increased the output quite a bit, so I had to lower the output so I could compare things properly without louder being better. I went through some of the tape models and became quite fond of the Swiss one

Just wondered what you guys are using, or what your views are on some of the tape plugs out there :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2018, 02:41 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 449
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

I have been using the Waves J37 it's a lot subtler than the Kramer. Or can be. A lot of the Izotope stuff I use has some sort of tape emulation that I throw on sometime. Mostly just the J37 though
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2018, 04:27 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,339
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

Nothing most of the time unless a track or mix really asks for tape, then I use J37. However I don't make a distinction between tape and other types of saturation, I just use the one that makes it feel right and carry on. Different types of saturation have different influences over the frequency curve and that definitely is a factor. I've been experimenting with the different tape algorithms of the Soundtoys plugins but most if the time J37 is the first choice because it has so many options...

Love the topic, though
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2018, 04:47 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 911
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

Slate VTM is as close to tape as I've ever heard.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2018, 05:33 PM
seriousfun seriousfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

UAD Studer A800 on tracks, UAD Ampex ATR-102 on the Master.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2018, 07:12 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 295
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

UAD Studer A800 and Waves J37 on tracks, both great and different enough from one another.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2018, 07:47 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,345
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

I own the UAD ATR-102 and it’s wonderful- HEAT is on all the time

I believe I own the J37 but I don’t think I even use it...I will have to try it out
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2018, 08:21 PM
Muddy-T Muddy-T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 230
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

I like Softube's Tape on the 2bus. I'll spare you my review and just redirect you to Michael White's excellent 'Plugin Of The Week' video; https://youtu.be/DfZAjCfaOwY

For me, most times the 'A' setting (Studer) @ 30Ips seems to do the trick. Maybe dial in a little bit of 'Cross Talk' to sort of centre or solidify the bottom end. A little bit goes a long way.

The Start/Stop buttons are a great added feature, sounds so much cooler than Vari-Fi.

T
__________________
"Don't look; listen!"

At work; 2013 27" iMac/i5/2.9GHz/8GB, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.6

At home; Custom Made Mac (Hackintosh) i7 (3770 "Ivy Bridge")/3.4GHz/16GB@2400MHz, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB System Drive, Samsung SSD 750 EVO 250GB Audio Drive, OSX 10.10.5, PT 12.8.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:23 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

Interesting to hear lots of people use J37. Do softtube do a TDM version of Tape, id love to try that if they do.

No other AC2/AC202 user here??
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-07-2018, 02:23 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,390
Default Re: Tape plugin, what you guys using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Interesting to hear lots of people use J37. Do softtube do a TDM version of Tape, id love to try that if they do.

No other AC2/AC202 user here??
Hi,

Maybe look at Avid real tape if you want TDM. It works very well on most things.

For me, Heat, UAD studer A800. Occasionally J37 or Real Tape

I have Slate VTM but didn’t like what it was doing to the low end when driven and ended up bypassing most of the time.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HI GUYS please help with REWIRE PLUGIN! ricardopr14 Pro Tools 10 3 11-09-2015 09:14 PM
TDM tape plugin?? Raoul23 General Discussion 1 07-02-2014 04:54 PM
Tape delay plugin for LE? psychoth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-20-2005 03:35 AM
OT - any of you guys tried thy Tape Op forum? silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-24-2003 12:16 PM
DUY DaD Tape Plugin brad719 General Discussion 2 03-20-2001 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com