Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-09-2018, 10:13 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 503
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
What are the signs of this failing capacitor??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are two GPUs in those MBP that auto switch depending on the graphic requirements, with an Nvidia doing the heavy lifting including running an external display. Switching from the Intel GPU to the Nvidia GPU will cause a kernel panic if the capacitor has failed. You can force the computer not to switch but graphics capabilities will be limited and no external display. Other than that no way to know.
However I have one 2010 MBP that has never had that problem and another that did so who knows.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-09-2018, 10:40 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,944
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

Thank you for sharing this knowledge. So it’s a bit hit and miss then


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-09-2018, 12:07 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 496
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

I'm typing now on a 2010 MBP 6,2.

This machine was a hand-me-down from my son. It had a habit of shytting the bed semi-regularly and he couldn't hang. GPU switching will simply turn the machine off without warning. I had a recent increase following a SSD swap.

After research, I downloaded this and haven't had another since. This a donation-ware item. Note to Cody Krieger -- I can't get the PayPal donate link to allow me to enter an amount, but I tried several times. Looks like you'll have to settle for a hearty "Thank you"!

Raoul - all that said, if you can manage without Thunderbolt, it's an OK machine.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:28 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,429
Default MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

2012’s in the States and on eBay regularly go for $500 or less

And as said before have TB and FW800 and USB3 (which I didn’t know)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:29 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,944
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
2012’s in the States and on eBay regularly go for $500 or less


Shame I’m
In the U.K. 2012 ones are around £700 here


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-11-2018, 06:58 AM
Juan Moore Juan Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Manchester (UK)
Posts: 22
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

I had a 2010 MBP i7 that had this issue. Main symptom was eventually a black screen from boot up. Very very occasionally it would boot up properly but then just unpredictability go black. Apple tried repairing it 4-5 times including new boards etc (each time a 2-week repair turnaround time) without success. I got fed up and had to buy a new mac. It was a nightmare because this meant I had to also convert all my music software (I was on PT10 at the time) to 64-bit compatible and the latest Apple OS. I would steer well clear of any 2010 MBP - especially given its age. However, you need to cost out the changes associated with changing up to a 64-bit system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Audio Post-production + my own music projects

Pro Tools 12HD, 12.2.1
Sibelius 8.0.1
nMP 6-core (16GB RAM)
Yosemite 10.10.5 (currently troubleshooting Sierra 10.12.2)
Neve (AES) + RME FF400 (tracking)
003 (mixing) + H8000FW (ADAT)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-11-2018, 09:11 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 503
Default Re: MacBook Pro 2010 Common GPU issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Moore View Post
I had a 2010 MBP i7 that had this issue. Main symptom was eventually a black screen from boot up. Very very occasionally it would boot up properly but then just unpredictability go black. Apple tried repairing it 4-5 times including new boards etc (each time a 2-week repair turnaround time) without success. I got fed up and had to buy a new mac. It was a nightmare because this meant I had to also convert all my music software (I was on PT10 at the time) to 64-bit compatible and the latest Apple OS. I would steer well clear of any 2010 MBP - especially given its age. However, you need to cost out the changes associated with changing up to a 64-bit system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Apple will not do surface level diagnostics or repairs they just replace the entire board which likely has the same crappy part on it. Unfortunately a common scenario.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSHD or SSD for MacBook Pro 7,1 (mid 2010) 13" SpaceCarRider Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 07-31-2015 02:27 AM
2010 MacBook Pro model and PT HD Native tritonkorg Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 18 08-08-2014 07:05 PM
PT9 on 2010 11" Macbook Air - which interface? mds1001 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 08-22-2011 02:15 PM
PT9 with Macbook Air 2010 and Apogee One producerdna Pro Tools 9 20 06-17-2011 04:37 PM
Macbook pro (mid 2010) 15” 2.4 / i5 is getting too hot! PetrosGls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-10-2011 03:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com