Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:39 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,016
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Only solution is to print every track, this can be done in one pass if the track cou T is not too large when doubled.


Or bounce 1 track at a time


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-26-2018, 04:43 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,124
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Or bounce 1 track at a time


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If there's processing in the Master Bus that might be necessary but I wouldn't recommend it if there's glue compression or shared parallel fx chains
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2018, 06:31 PM
adamclairmont adamclairmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 13
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Hey, I haven't used the commit feature much but would this capture volume? I know it captures clip gain and inserts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2018, 06:38 AM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 485
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Why would a mixer actually want the volume and pan settings from the rough mix??

FWIW: If I had a session that was so locked in that I didn’t really want a mixer to have a completely new look at it (which begs the question as to why I would then be sending it out to be mixed by someone else) i would certainly search out someone working in pro tools so he/she could just open my existing session.

But when I get things to mix, I don’t really need volume or pan settings from the roughs.
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-29-2018, 07:22 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 249
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

If I were the mixer would definitely ask for the raw files. It’s like sending your mix to the mastering engineer maximized at 0dbFS.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-29-2018, 09:08 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Yeah forget the pan and volume, that's all part of the mix. If the mixer wants to check your choices then he'll listen to your rough mix.

Check all the fades and crossfades on the tracks.

Check all edits such as comps, tuning, timing and such.

Commit any EQ, processing which is core to the sound of the track, especially amp simulations for guitar and bass. That said, err on the side of caution and don't box the mixer in with over processing.

Commit any virtual instruments.

Consolidate all tracks to the full length. For example, if the song is 3:48 then make sure the final audio tracks are all 3:48 in length.

Check with your mixer what file type is acceptable. 44.1/48 x 24 is pretty ubiquitous. So either convert from your consolidated tracks or else just send them a copy of the consolidated tracks.

Hope that helps.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-30-2018, 09:31 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,604
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Not difficult at all: If you want all the automation/plugs/panning rendered, then select across all tracks and timeline and right-click to "commit" - choose "edit selection", check "consolidate clips", and render auto/panning if desired. After committing, select across the newly rendered tracks and shift-cmd-k to export desired clips to a new folder.


If you don't want panning/mono-to-stereo/auto/plugs, then just select across all tracks and timeline, shift-opt-3 to consolidate all edits, then shift-cmd-k to export the new files to a new folder.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 - Exporting Audio for a Mixer question TheEdster75 macOS 1 03-02-2018 07:23 PM
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 12:11 AM
Exporting audio? yijvapar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-03-2009 04:56 AM
Exporting Audio, best way ?? shanabit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-14-2006 08:18 PM
exporting audio zook250 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-03-2005 05:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com