Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2019, 07:51 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 296
Default Native card behaviour using HDX

Hi All,

Is it possible to get my HDX card to behave as a native card?

That is: all mixing and plugins handled by the mac but the OMNI still recognised?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2018.12.0 - Mbox Pro ---- MacOS 10.12.6 - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM - SSD Startup Disk ---- AJA Kona LHi PCIe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2019, 10:12 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Native card behaviour using HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonchase View Post
Hi All,

Is it possible to get my HDX card to behave as a native card?

That is: all mixing and plugins handled by the mac but the OMNI still recognised?
Hi Simon,

I'm only a native user so I may be wrong. Are you able to select all the DSP plugins and tell them to be native? Doing that should act the same? Whether or not you're able to control the mixer processing (handled natively or not), I'm not sure.

Back in the TDM days:
Quote:
Originally Posted by suicune View Post
On a TDM system in preferences>processing there is a check box 'open unresourced DSP buttons as native'. If this is unchecked when opening a native session all plugins automatically get switched to TDM if the plugin is available.

Don't know if there's anything similar on HDX but that's where I would look for it.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:08 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 456
Default Re: Native card behaviour using HDX

You can instantiate all the plugins as native, rather than DSP, but all mixing and routing will still happen on the cards. There is no way to use HDX as a Core Audio driver inside of Pro Tools.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT My HD Native Thunderbolt Box for your HD Native PCIe card whittybeats Buy & Sell 3 01-06-2018 01:52 PM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 02:45 AM
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 10:02 PM
Venue + mix rack + hdx card + pro tools hd native card ? hart07 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2012 01:02 PM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com