Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-23-2018, 05:32 PM
BrandonUnis BrandonUnis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Did you run a 10Hz to 20+kHz sweep? That sweep looks seriously limited in bandwidth.
What sample rate are you at?
I can see the tell tale ripple in the freq response I see on the unison mic preamps. That's nothing to worry about when you realize the scale but that sweep needs to be done over a larger bandwidth. And what level were you sending/receiving? Since a sine sweep directly in to out should have no peaks, you should be able to run this at fairly high levels to make any problems really apparent (like -6dBFs) (just make sure you don't have speakers going at the same time)

Also, attach/post the mdat if possible (the saved file from REW). It's easier to look at than the graphs (since you can adjust scales/zoom/smoothing)
Ah my mistake. Ok I now have it set to go from 0-20khz - here is the m.dat file. I've never used that app before so apologies for my learning curve.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/v6kdggbhyh...0_10.mdat?dl=0

Does this tell you anything more?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2018, 05:44 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,227
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

The NT1-A mic is a crappy piece of gear and i am not surprised you get a bad sound from it. Just the facts of life. It is a cheap,mic aimed at ... no one really who want to achieve great recordings. It distorts really easy and the high is harsh and mids just bad. Try another mic and see what happens.

We use our Apollo Duo MK2 everyday as a monitor controller for our Apollo cards and will be used with our new Apollo X8P as soon as Mac Pro Trashcans are suported from UA.

The Apollo Duo MK2 is awesome and should not sound like your experience even with a NT1-A. I found a Röde mic same as yours in the closet here and did a good recording test and even though your isssue is intermittent the NT1-A thru a External real Neve 1073 and into a real Hardware LA2-A and that mic is a sad sad thing. Even though the recorded vocals sound OK, the next recording with the same chain except with a Manley Reference Gold was from outer space compared to the Röde Mic.

Dunno what to say more than if you want to get the Apollo Duo xperience full on you need to get better mics.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME

”Pro Tools always wants to close and relaunch though, which is pretty annoying... especially when it never seems to manage the 'relaunch' bit. I'm sure it used to do it” - Quote LDS 2019
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2018, 05:52 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,441
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
The NT1-A mic is a crappy piece of gear and i am not surprised you get a bad sound from it. Just the facts of life. It is a cheap,mic aimed at ... no one really who want to achieve great recordings. It distorts really easy and the high is harsh and mids just bad. Try another mic and see what happens.

We use our Apollo Duo MK2 everyday as a monitor controller for our Apollo cards and will be used with our new Apollo X8P as soon as Mac Pro Trashcans are suported from UA.

The Apollo Duo MK2 is awesome and should bot sound like your experience even with a NT1-A. I found a Röde mic same as tours in the closet here and did a good recording test and even though your isssue is intermittent the NT1-A thru a External real Neve 1073 and into a real Hardware LA2-A and that mic is a sad sad thing. Even though the recorded vocals sound OK, the next recording with the same chain except with a Manley Reference Gold was from outer space compared to the Röde Mic.

Dunno what to say more than if tou want to get the Apollo Duo xperience full on you need to get better mics.
Ding! Ding! Thanks Christopher for proving me right about a hater coming along

Brandon: I can't read the last dropbox post, but I doubt it will help, I doubt any transfer function would help, ... but I was more curious why you had the HPF engaged... its a digital processor on the Apollo interfaces and not a true analog HPF (which I'd prefer) and I was wondering if you had it engaged for a reason or fi it was not engaged then something else would be wrong.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-23-2018 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:01 PM
BrandonUnis BrandonUnis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Ding! Ding! Thanks Christopher for proving me right about a hater coming along

Brandon: I can't read the last dropbox post, but I doubt it will help, I doubt any transfer function would help, ... but I was more curious why you had the LPF engaged... its a digital processor on the Apollo interfaces and not a true analog LPF (which I'd prefer) and I was wondering if you had it engaged for a reason or fi it was not engaged then something else would be wrong.
Thanks again for the input guys. I did experience the exact same issue with a U87 and with a TLM 149 in the past - we had them to try and rule out mic issues.

Regarding the LPF, sorry Im doing a million things and mis-read / spoke. the HPF was engaged just for low end attenuation.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:05 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

the REW shows THD less than 0.012% and the freq/phase graph show things fine too (other than the Apollo inputs are never perfectly linear). There's nothing showing wrong with the Apollo.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:09 PM
BrandonUnis BrandonUnis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
the REW shows THD less than 0.012% and the freq/phase graph show things fine too (other than the Apollo inputs are never perfectly linear). There's nothing showing wrong with the Apollo.
thanks for checking it out!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:12 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,441
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

HPF/LPF sigh, you can tell I need caffeine (I edited my post). I'm not sure you'll get any more insight here. The Apollo converters are well regarded, and I think lots of folks will point to the NT1-A mic as a suspect. Even if you've tested with other mics maybe there has been multiple things going on from artist technique to maybe a damaged mic etc.

If you get this to happen again badly with a setup then it would be great to grab a recording of the dry input. And other clues of problems like hum pickup, decreasing apparent sensitivity etc. might be helpful to note.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-23-2018, 06:18 PM
BrandonUnis BrandonUnis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: Apollo Twin MKII Distortion Issue - With example

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
HPF/LPF sigh, you can tell I need caffeine (I edited my post). I'm not sure you'll get any more insight here. The Apollo converters are well regarded, and I think lots of folks will point to the NT1-A mic as a suspect. Even if you've tested with other mics maybe there has been multiple things going on from artist technique to maybe a damaged mic etc.

If you get this to happen again badly with a setup then it would be great to grab a recording of the dry input. And other clues of problems like hum pickup, decreasing apparent sensitivity etc. might be helpful to note.
it seems to defy all logic for sure.. I appreciate the advice given and time taken. I'll work towards getting a higher end mic as a permanent part of my set up.

I've got a Lauten LA320 which i know is still not considered high end (but it should be better than the NT1..) but it felt more susceptible to that grit / dirt and I chalked it up to its tube-ness coupled with potential Apollo issues (which appear to not be there after today's investigating).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools First doesn't detect my Apollo Twin USB, and an error message issue Bobbin Pro Tools | First Discussion 15 02-13-2018 02:31 AM
Apollo Twin 20% Off at GC and MF danevaz Third Party Interfaces 0 11-20-2016 12:39 PM
11R and Apollo Twin USB PatriotsBiker Eleven Rack 8 05-16-2016 01:57 PM
Apollo Twin - anyone using with First? Ormond Pro Tools | First Discussion 0 12-03-2015 12:32 PM
New UA Apollo Twin nst7 Third Party Interfaces 0 01-23-2014 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com