Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2018, 09:23 AM
Xraided28 Xraided28 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 2
Default Control 24- new member

hi all

First i want to say sorry in advance because im sure this topic has been discussed many times in the past but
I am looking to upgrade from my current setup i have with my 003 console and looking to get a "vintage" (as some call it) Control 24.

I currently run normal ProTools 10 with my 003 and i dont seem to have many problems becides 2 of my faders being broke.
Ive been searching online and have found a handful of used Control24s floating around for about $1100 for just the control service no other hardware.

Now I know I could use ethernet to connect the control 24, but will that allow it to run as a normal controller /Console for preamps etc
or would i need digidesign 192 or something along those lines?
I am going to be using this as a control surface as well as for its Preamps.

If im not mistaken a can use my normal protools 10 version and run the HD hardware no problem as well correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2018, 10:44 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,379
Default Re: Control 24- new member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xraided28 View Post
hi all

First i want to say sorry in advance because im sure this topic has been discussed many times in the past but
I am looking to upgrade from my current setup i have with my 003 console and looking to get a "vintage" (as some call it) Control 24.

I currently run normal ProTools 10 with my 003 and i dont seem to have many problems becides 2 of my faders being broke.
Ive been searching online and have found a handful of used Control24s floating around for about $1100 for just the control service no other hardware.

Now I know I could use ethernet to connect the control 24, but will that allow it to run as a normal controller /Console for preamps etc
or would i need digidesign 192 or something along those lines?
I am going to be using this as a control surface as well as for its Preamps.

If im not mistaken a can use my normal protools 10 version and run the HD hardware no problem as well correct?
Hi,

The control 24 will work with any pro tools up to 10 on most any computer that has ethernet.

Its basically a big gloryfied mouse.

It is NOT an audio interface. but there are 16 stand alone pre-amps built in that have outputs on the back of the 24 in the form of a 25way D-Connector for each bank of 8 pre-amps which will output the pre-amps back to your audio interface inputs. (These are very basic pre-amps!)

There is also a monitor section, again this uses inputs and outputs on the control 24 (No direct sound from PT)

Its a great control surface but the audio side isn't stella


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2018, 11:07 AM
Xraided28 Xraided28 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Control 24- new member

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

The control 24 will work with any pro tools up to 10 on most any computer that has ethernet.

Its basically a big gloryfied mouse.

It is NOT an audio interface. but there are 16 stand alone pre-amps built in that have outputs on the back of the 24 in the form of a 25way D-Connector for each bank of 8 pre-amps which will output the pre-amps back to your audio interface inputs. (These are very basic pre-amps!)

There is also a monitor section, again this uses inputs and outputs on the control 24 (No direct sound from PT)

Its a great control surface but the audio side isn't stella


Chris
Thanks for the quick response chris.

What do you think would be an alternative option for someone looking to upgrade? for a controll surface / console... I am on a budget of around 5k, anything left over is going to be put towards my other budget for new mic(s), interface(s), pres etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2018, 03:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,721
Default Re: Control 24- new member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xraided28 View Post
Thanks for the quick response chris.

What do you think would be an alternative option for someone looking to upgrade? for a controll surface / console... I am on a budget of around 5k, anything left over is going to be put towards my other budget for new mic(s), interface(s), pres etc...
Hmmm, $5K buys a used C24 or a used S3, DOCK and iPad. All of these will still work with newer PT software, so might be a better option. Or you could pick up the new Presonus Faderport16 or a pair of used Artist Mix units for under a grand
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2018, 04:02 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,277
Default Control 24- new member

The difference between the Faderports and the S3 being the integration with PT.

Faderports while nice are only HUi. So that’s transport controls and fader movements, solo, mute and Maybe record...(i don’t remember about record)

Eucon while it is not 100% all of the time is so much more detailed than just simple HUi

YouTube both surfaces
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2018, 08:10 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,430
Default Re: Control 24- new member

Keep in mind, OP needs an interface too. There's nothing in the current Avid line that will provide "console" and interface functions except the S3 which is out of his/her price range (and the S3's audio interface capabilities are pretty minimal).

BTW, the fix for broken faders on the 003 is cheap and easy; Full Compass sells replacement faders for about $40 each, and it's a simple job to put the new ones in.
__________________
rich@richbreen.com
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:19 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,721
Default Re: Control 24- new member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Keep in mind, OP needs an interface too.....and the S3's audio interface capabilities are pretty minimal).
And, on windows, the S3 has no interface capabilities as Avid still has no Windows AVB driver These days, I am happy to keep the interface and the controller as separate hardware
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2018, 12:15 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,123
Default Re: Control 24- new member

The foreseeable future of Avid is going to be S-series controllers and the MTRX interface
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member harmonicmint Pro Tools Software (Win) 7 03-29-2013 08:21 AM
Hi New Member! trumpet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-08-2009 02:50 AM
New Member Peter Connelly Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 02-26-2007 05:00 AM
Member fender General Discussion 1 01-05-2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com