Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 06-21-2006, 08:09 AM

Default Making my final mix LOUDER

Hi all, i'm new to this whole pro tools thing as of about a week ago, but i've finished rough copies of a couple of different songs. When i bounce them and burn them to a CD, though, the resulting file is MUCH quieter than any other CD i own.

How should i go about adding volume to my mixes? Do i need to do something special with the normalizer, equalizer, and compression, or do i need to increase the volume using a different program, after bouncing them?

Also, i realize that mastering would fix this problem, but i'm simply trying to put together a solo acoustic demo and i'm not willing to put out the cash for professional mastering. I'm looking for a do-it-myself fix to the low volume of my mixes.

Thanks in advance!
Old 06-21-2006, 08:43 AM

Default Re: Making my final mix LOUDER

If you just want brute force loudness, try the free demo of the Massey L2700 Mastering Limiter. Try the 'Vibrant' mode. You'll get some insight on what, if anything, needs to be changed in your mix.

EDIT: Just noticed you're doing an acoustic demo; maybe try the 'Smooth' mode instead.
Old 06-21-2006, 09:06 AM

The only problem i'm running into with the Massey is that i'm using an the intel chipset, so most plugins haven't been upgraded yet...not cool

I also forgot to mention - i'm able to push the mix to where my master track is reaching near-clip levels throughout, but it still remains quiet after bouncing it. Any way to increase the volume without causing it to clip?
Old 06-21-2006, 09:48 AM