Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:15 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

You don't have to use a dongle with Version 9 if you don't want to. You can authorize your hard drive and, when you need to work somewhere else, you can temporarily de-authorize your drive and put your auth's on the cloud in order to temporarily authorize the computer at the out of town studio. It's really a small price to pay for the security of knowing that there is no danger of losing them. You do not have the same security with iLok.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:24 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
You don't have to use a dongle with Version 9 if you don't want to. You can authorize your hard drive and, when you need to work somewhere else, you can temporarily de-authorize your drive and put your auth's on the cloud in order to temporarily authorize the computer at the out of town studio. It's really a small price to pay for the security of knowing that there is no danger of losing them. You do not have the same security with iLok.
This is how MC 6 works. You can activate and deactivate systems at will.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:29 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 498
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Yup I agree with Werner about that. Does anyone know what happens if you have the licenses on your local HDD and it "fails". My understanding is that you can recover all licenses once per 1 year? Isn't that kind of dangerous from Wave's perspective, though? Is it once per year "indefinitely" or until your WUP/Waves Support Plan is active?

Though there might also be the problem that a lot of the studios have strict firewall policies and don't actually allow communications over the public internet. Then again you can easily find a laptop, grab a USB stick and transfer it there and then simply plug that USB into the production machine. In which case Werner's view makes total sense again. Right...clearly I had too much coffee
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 7.1, 16-Core Xeon 3.2GHz, 196 GB RAM, OSX 10.15.2, HDX3, PT 2019.12 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 PCIe Octo's, Raven MTZ, 1x HD Omni, 2x HD I/O's, 1x MTRX and some more cool stuff...
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-21-2012, 02:31 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post
Just updated to Waves9 and the WLC keeps telling me that my username/password for the WavesAccount is wrong which is definitely NOT the case ! Works flawless on their webpage.

Of course the Waves v8 PlugIns got overwritten so I deleted waves folder and WaveShell9 and downloaded WOLI v8 and installed v8 again so that I could continue to work.

Of course I sent WavesSupport a note to help but havent got a response so far .... well it's nite over here in Europe.

Just as a quick information for y'all
Update: Waves support contacted me today and they changed my username which used to have an "ü" (u with umlaut) in it. So that was the problem with the new WLC-database

Running v9 now and all is fine :)
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-22-2012, 07:27 PM
cwhite771 cwhite771 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Hmmmm... I seem to be the only person that's unable to get v9 working. Installed it the other day, and I was also having the issue with it looking for the v8 folder. However, it's also not finding my licenses no matter where I put them. I've tried my HD, amd 2 USB thumb drives so far with no luck.

I un-installed and re-installed v9 and that took care of the missing v8 folder issue, however it's still not finding my v9 licenses... I get a prompt to "Skip" or "Re-scan for licenses"... which just brings up the same prompt over and over. Ran all of the usual maintenance/repair procedures, and reformatted the one thumb drive... transferred the licenses back and forth from the "cloud" to my USB thumb and HD probably 50 times now... when I log into my acount on waves.com, or view on the WLC, it shows them as activated and where they are, but they still don't work. WTF! Ugh.

Contacted support on Tuesday, and still no word.
---
c
__________________
2013 MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/16GB RAM/OS10.9.2 - PT10.3.8/PT11.1.2 - RME UFX - Apogee Rosetta 200 - and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-22-2012, 07:42 PM
bernsense bernsense is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam C View Post
Anyone with Lion 10.7 using the new Waves 9 64bit?

Thanks
installed waves 9 yesterday on my system. kind of a rough start, I have to say. first of all, it messed up my pro tools prefs big time (mac freeze kinda crashes...), and it keeps crashing the system on a regular basis. to a point where i might have to go back to V8. PT 10 has been running nicely up until that V9 install

be careful when upgrading!

I do like the new license system, though. waves and ilok weren't exactly a match made in heaven anyway.
__________________
__________________
petting:zoo Music, Inc.
Topanga, CA
http://www.facebook.com/pettingzoomusicinc

Mac OS X 10.11.6; Pro Tools HDX 12.8.2 R2; ATI Radeon HD 5770;
2x Lynx Aurora, 1x 192 I/O

'Only because you ARE a character doesn't mean you HAVE character' - The Wolf
Please rock!

Last edited by bernsense; 03-22-2012 at 10:04 PM. Reason: signature was outdated...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:36 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,788
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

I don't know if it helps any, but I'm on a Mac, and I always uninstall the previous version (v.8 in this case) using the Waves Uninstaller (in Waves Utilities). My v.9 upgrade went great. I don't know if it has anything to do with this.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:56 AM
bernsense bernsense is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
I don't know if it helps any, but I'm on a Mac, and I always uninstall the previous version (v.8 in this case) using the Waves Uninstaller (in Waves Utilities). My v.9 upgrade went great. I don't know if it has anything to do with this.
thanks, I might give that a try. waves didn't say we needed to uninstall... they told me they have qualified PT 10.0, not 10.0.1 yet. maybe that's an issue... they also told me they haven't removed my V8 license, so I should have no trouble rolling back.
__________________
__________________
petting:zoo Music, Inc.
Topanga, CA
http://www.facebook.com/pettingzoomusicinc

Mac OS X 10.11.6; Pro Tools HDX 12.8.2 R2; ATI Radeon HD 5770;
2x Lynx Aurora, 1x 192 I/O

'Only because you ARE a character doesn't mean you HAVE character' - The Wolf
Please rock!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:59 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

So anyone who has gone through this process, what happens to my iLok v8 license? Is it surrendered in the process of going to v9?

Or will my old v8 asset still be on the iLok?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:24 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,728
Default Re: Waves 9... so far so good!

Everyone is making it sound like you get to keep your Version 8 on your ilok. But I'm wondering the same.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How good are Waves Plugins sojo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 02-08-2008 04:10 AM
Good alternative to waves L2 ? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 09-20-2007 09:25 AM
Waves Good Again bbob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-23-2007 02:19 PM
WAVES - WUP It Good! Andre Knecht Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-24-2004 01:51 AM
As some were asking for good Waves prices: Lalaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-18-2002 07:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com