Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2015, 03:43 PM
juh juh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Paris France
Posts: 40
Default Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Hello

I'm about to buy an UAD Apollo 8 to use it on PT11. Right now I'm working with an old Apollo duo firewire.
I often use virtual instruments on instrument tracks and every UAD plugs add big latency so I can't play the instrument with my keyboard.

Will the latency be reduced with thunderbolt ?
How much will it be ?

Any other solution ?

Thanks!

J
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2015, 07:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,318
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Your virtual instruments are not running on the UAD DSP. So what native latency do they ad.... Basically what buffer size is your session running at?

You have everything in front of you to work out what is going on, and that is much more efficient than us having to ask you lots of questions.... Since you have not provided a lot of useful information about what you are actually doing. (Pro Tools versions, buffer size, basic system info, etc, what exact VIs, what UAD plugins, so e idea of session complexity, etc).

Start with not using UAD anything and just the Vis, and understand the latency seen there.

Then understand what exact UAD processing plugins are you using and what the expected latency of those plugins are. There is very good information in the UAD documentation for that, and for minimizing UAD plugin latency in general. UAD plugins not run through the UAD console are expected to add significant latency as they require high IO buffer size to run reliably. And any upconverting or similar UAD plugins can have inherently high internal latency. The bus limiters etc. Are just a no go for real time processing, working exactly as documented and expected. Depending on what you are foing you may even be better off monitoring through native (or no) post VI plugins or printing instrument tracks and doing plugin processing on any UAD plugins you want to use at mix time.

The latency you are seeing is likely dominated by buffer size (which is? At what sample rate?) or using inappropriate UAD plugins, neither will likely directly be fixed by going to a thunderbolt Apollo, but the more efficient thunderbolt Apollo may let you operate at a lower IO buffer size.... But if you have not tried tuning that down that buffer size (and maybe sample rate?) already and carefully optimizing your system or trying alternate workflows you may be wasting your time, swapping UAD hardware is not where I would start to solve whatever issue you are having.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-26-2015 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2015, 12:09 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

You do have ADC enabled, I trust?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2015, 01:20 PM
juh juh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Paris France
Posts: 40
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Hello

Thanks for your answers, and sorry for the lack of information.

I'm using PT11.3.1 on Yosemite with a Macpro 2013, and a UAD apollo duo firewire. Freq rate usually set to 48k.
The latency problems I have are the sames regardless of the VI or UAD plugins.

Let's say I have a session with one instrument track containing Kontakt 5. I usually set the buffer size to 128 or 256 so I can play the Kontakt instrument without audible latency.

If I add a UAD plugin on the same track (Moog filter for instance), the delay value displayed at the bottom of the track is 1143 samples.

So impossible to play the instrument with my keyboard, to much latency.

Changing buffer size value or misc options in the playback engine has no effect.

The most surprising is that six months ago I worked with PT10 and the same gear, and latency value was only about 600 samples with DAE set to 128 or 256.

So I was wondering if I'd get better results using an apollo 8 thunderbolt instead of my actual apollo duo fw.

I hope it's more clear..

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2015, 01:31 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Don't play VI's through UAD plugins or any plugins with huge latency. Play your VI parts and then put the UAD plugins on during mix time. UAD plugins have tons of latency which is not a problem for mixing since ADC takes care of that. Also make sure Automatic Delay Comp is ON in Pro Tools and make sure you do not have any plugins on the master fader while recording.

TB bandwidth and latency results is better than FW, but there is no way to get around the huge latency as the UAD plugin has to go to and from the UA card.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2015, 03:32 PM
juh juh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Paris France
Posts: 40
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Thank you Wall2wall, this is what I used to do so far (UAD only for mix time), but I was looking for a solution to play and compose music in PT, using UAD plugs.

I think I definitely have to forget this idea ..:)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2015, 04:42 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,434
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Yeah it's not the best

I can track with slate plugs and avid plugs, but that's about it

TB latency is better but the plugs still have to process the sound......over sampling which is why they sound so dang good
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2015, 10:25 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,318
Default Re: Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by juh View Post
Thank you Wall2wall, this is what I used to do so far (UAD only for mix time), but I was looking for a solution to play and compose music in PT, using UAD plugs.

I think I definitely have to forget this idea ..:)
Yep. That is just not what the UAD plugins are really intended for. Do this processing at mix time (as you were), and/or find a native plugin that works for you.

If you were tracking say a live synth you could run the UAD plugins in the UAD Console, but a VI is already running inside Pro Tools so banging back out again to the console is not the same.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2015, 10:44 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,434
Default Latency with Apollo thunderbolt

Then there is this....

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post

Great Unit great converters- upgrade your studio sound today.....

$1400 USD with $40 flat ship to the lower 48

Free with purchase a Sig FW PCIE card approved for this device.....$140 dollar retail price.


Comes with the Analog classic bundle and softtube bass amp and 1/2 stack room plugs free
Click on the link (originally posted by) above ....sorry for the shameless plug....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS (UK/WW) UA Apollo Quad w. Thunderbolt Card [Like New] £1250 Discotic Buy & Sell 0 07-16-2015 07:17 AM
Universal Audio Apollo 16 w/ ThunderBolt : w/ UAD-2 Quad DSP & $7K in Plugins AudioElementsLLC Buy & Sell 8 12-02-2014 07:08 PM
PT doesn't see apollo with thunderbolt cable nob turner Third Party Interfaces 5 10-05-2014 12:18 PM
FS: BLA Modified Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt Option Card whittybeats Buy & Sell 5 05-07-2014 08:10 AM
latency with new setup ua apollo drewblue Pro Tools Software (Mac) 12 06-10-2013 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com