Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-15-2009, 03:58 AM

Default [D-COMMAND] HELP#2 - Stereo Monitor and Headphone

Hi everybody,
I desperate need some help here, I did read the manual but I find it helpless
- The manual keep talking INPUT and MAIN OUTS (6CH Surround) but what about plain stereo? I am new to D-Command, I was able to hookup, messing around and now found out a problem (From me, for not fully understand the console yet, I guess), it's really basic: working in plain stereo
So, What I am doing is:
- My Song, I want all the tracks mix in stereo, then, I select 192 1/2 OUT.
- For Monitor, I am using 2 pair of Speakers, I connect them to MAIN and ALT, both using CH 1-2. I can hear my mix fine in both MAIN and ALT...
Now the Problems:
- The Mono check button: Does not work, the sound is still "stereo" to me.
- The Front console Headphone: I can only hear LEFT channel, the RIGHT channel will only be heard if I switch my Mix to OUT 5-6
Note that the sound from headphone is weak and a little distort... but If I assign talk back and say something, talkback sound good in stereo (while the music is still only on the left)
- Please Help... Right now, i have some date line, I only want to mix so forget about the CUE, surround or stuff like that... I need The headphone to work, I want to hear it exactly what I hear in main monitor output 1/2, and the Mono check too.
I suspect it's something to do with 6CH monitor so that CH1 is LEFT and CH5 is RIGHT, but Since I mix only in stereo, I have to bounce the song with output set to 1-2 ... I can't select 1-5... so, please advise what to do.
I think Digi should make some tech note regarding stereo only situation, example set up or a session template...
I really need help on this issue, please take a little time and help me!