Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-01-2019, 07:19 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
Misinformation takes many forms. The ram speed in 4,1 Mac Pro's is limited by the CPU, not the machine.



Sure, the increases in performance weren't huge but if you are aiming for 5,1 Mac Pro benchmark scores with a 4,1 machine, you won't actually be running a 5,1 spec'ed system without upgrading the ram. That is the point I made.

It really depends on where you are upgrading from and where you are aiming to be. I paid $200AUD ($140USD) for 64 gig of 1333mhz ram for my machine. It wasn't just peanuts, it was the cheapest possible upgrade path! Unlike the 3,1 and earlier Mac Pro's, there is nothing special about 4,1 and 5,1 ram.
Please understand I’m not trying to start an argument, technically your point is accurate, however, the benefit of spending the money on the faster ram, simply does not justify the performance increase you experience with it. I’m not telling you what I think, I’m telling you exactly what I know. I have built many of these systems, including my own where I wasted my money upgrading to the faster ram speed, if I were to do it all over again I simply wouldn’t do it. I flush money down the drain. Considering that I did most of these, or year or so ago, the prices drop., But even if it was like two dollars, I simply wouldn’t do it because the performance increases are so negligible it’s not even worth wasting intellectual thought on it
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-02-2019, 02:47 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
Please understand I’m not trying to start an argument, technically your point is accurate, however, the benefit of spending the money on the faster ram, simply does not justify the performance increase you experience with it. I’m not telling you what I think, I’m telling you exactly what I know. I have built many of these systems, including my own where I wasted my money upgrading to the faster ram speed, if I were to do it all over again I simply wouldn’t do it. I flush money down the drain. Considering that I did most of these, or year or so ago, the prices drop., But even if it was like two dollars, I simply wouldn’t do it because the performance increases are so negligible it’s not even worth wasting intellectual thought on it

I'm sure most people are capable of making their own decision regarding the cost and economics of it. The majority of these decade old machines shipped with ram configurations that aren't really fit for modern 2019 DAWs. I threw out all of the existing ram when I upgraded to 64 gig because the old 1 & 2gig sticks didn't fit in with the configuration I needed. I'm sure a lot of people upgrading ram in their machines is doing the same. You really want dual rank ram if you want to access large capacities at 1333mhz speeds. I have seen variations in performance of up to 40% in benchmarks just by changing configurations in my machine.

It is really impossible not to justify the few extra bucks for faster ram, even if it was only a 2% improvement in performance, given how much I have already spent on my DAW. HDX card, SDDs, Pro Tools license, black magic card, plugins, midi peripherals, control surface... To skimp on ram to save a few measly bucks at this stage of the game would have been the very definition of frugal, but to each their own. I would have literally wasted more money tipping my half finished coffee down the drain this morning. Most people would have.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses

Last edited by LDS; 01-03-2019 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:16 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
I’ve upgraded over 10 of these systems and you will get negilble improvement with the faster RAM. Don’t waist the money on ram.
Thanks for the info, (GOOD NEWS), for some reason there is (2) sticks (16gigs) of PC3 14900R in the memory slots already, so I guess the money I won't have to waste. Although the speed is technically 1866, which is more than the 1333, but I hope there is no adverse effects to that ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixchump View Post
Remember, that in order to get the increased RAM speed, you have to leave one RAM slot in each bank empty (3 in one group, 3 in the other)...

This upgrade has only (1) tray, Mixchump. the sticks are side by side, should offset one of the sticks ?


Or should I get another stick and leave the four slot open ?, THANKS.


Thank you all tremendously, so greatly appreciated.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 01-05-2019 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:30 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Good day everyone,


Okay here's what I got, not sure if the benchmarks represent (2) PROCESSORS on my 2008 machine ?
Or is this the overall score ?, thank you.
Click image for larger version

Name:	1s.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	11256
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 01-07-2019 at 07:47 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-10-2019, 04:40 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Good day everyone,


Okay here's what I got, not sure if the benchmarks represent (2) PROCESSORS on my 2008 machine ?
Or is this the overall score ?, thank you.
Attachment 11256


The benchmark measures each system as a whole, so it includes both processors in your 2008 machine. The results seem about right.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-11-2019, 04:01 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
The benchmark measures each system as a whole, so it includes both processors in your 2008 machine. The results seem about right.
Thanks LDS,


Up and running, and clearly see the performance gain. Now I have to take the plunge for 2018, do you recommend a decent priced video card, or will this stock ATI 5770 still work for 2018 ?, thanks all again.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 01-11-2019 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-12-2019, 12:47 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 150
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Thanks LDS,


Up and running, and clearly see the performance gain. Now I have to take the plunge for 2018, do you recommend a decent priced video card, or will this stock ATI 5770 still work for 2018 ?, thanks all again.
The stock graphics card in the Mac Pro 5,1 is not supported by Mojave (or more specifically the new Metal graphics engine employed by Mojave and previous versions of macOS). See this article for Apple Approved graphics cards https://appleinsider.com/articles/18...mited-for-imac

On another note, (and this may just be me) but the (mac flashed )AMD Radeon R9 280X (which is the same family as the AMD Radeon HD 7000 family) that I have work seems to behave much better with a Full HD (1920x1080) screen via HDMI than my old Apple 27" LED Cinema. Much snappier performance and big sessions that droppped out before are now looping endlessly.

Go figure.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Sierra 10.12.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-12-2019, 12:54 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 150
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Good day everyone,


Okay here's what I got, not sure if the benchmarks represent (2) PROCESSORS on my 2008 machine ?
Or is this the overall score ?, thank you.
Attachment 11256
Also, I had the exact same Geekbench results on my machine last night. Only difference is that I have the W3690 CPU rather than your X version.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Sierra 10.12.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:11 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Also, I had the exact same Geekbench results on my machine last night. Only difference is that I have the W3690 CPU rather than your X version.
Very interesting indeed, so I gather the only difference is someone mentioned the the X5690 addresses more ram perhaps ?, and what's the max for the X5690 ?, thanks
Click image for larger version

Name:	mac pro bench.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	11273
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 01-12-2019 at 10:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-14-2019, 05:05 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,486
Default Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Also, I had the exact same Geekbench results on my machine last night. Only difference is that I have the W3690 CPU rather than your X version.
the.engineer,


Do you have any idea how much ram can the Mac 3.46hex address ?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex -Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4??? audioluche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-15-2012 07:14 PM
2008 Mac Pro w/ lots of ram or 2009/2010 w/ low ram? Ross H Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 08-29-2011 04:19 PM
Mac Pro 2010 2.8 GHz Quad Core vs. 2008 2.8 GHz 8-Core audiosf Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 04-07-2011 03:27 PM
NAB April 2010 - anything new ?? scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 03-10-2010 12:40 AM
Replacing stock 9600/350 (upgraded G3/400) video card Marco Migliari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-13-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com