Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2011, 05:09 AM
storypod storypod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Maumee, OH USA
Posts: 14
Default Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

Hi, I'm finally making the leap (from a Mix 24 system, strangely enough) to Protools 10 Native with an Omni I/O, and I wondered if anyone has any advice on the Mac Pro that might be my best option for the long haul? I can't afford the newest (2010) 8-core, so my options are probably either a used 2010 quad core or a 2009 8-core. Were there enough upgrades to the 2010 Pro's that would make a 2010 quad-core better than a 2009 8-core, or should I just go for the most cores and highest cpu speed, regardless of year? Is there anything that the PT Native core or PT10 would 'like' better between these 2 cpu's, or anything to look for that might make this usable longer, thru more upgrade cycles, etc. Thanks for any help, it's very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2011, 05:25 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

Hi!
Personally I would recommend in this order (priority):
1. Higher CPU speed
2. More cores

So I would rather take a 3.2GHz 4-core CPU that a 2.2GHz 8-core CPU.

I don't think there's that much of an improvement in 2009 vs. 2010 MacPRO that I would immediately discard the 2009 model.

But please consult with some other people on the forum as I am also currently running my system on a 2009 MacPRO (8-core @ 2.93GHz) and have not bought the 2010 model (nor do I intend to).
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2011, 07:25 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

You will run out of addressable memory before you come close to hitting your processor limit with the 32-bit Pro Tools application.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2011, 01:40 PM
Diccer Diccer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: under a bridge, USA
Posts: 194
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

The 6 core 3.3ghz from the apple buisness unit seems to be the best value and performace as it eliminates the core to core bus. Most software isn't written well enough to use the extra cores. But many of your 3rd party plug ins are 64 bit, and can act as such even though running in the 32bit Pro Tools.
The buisness unit can get you a better deal as well.
See if you find a used 6 core, or wait a couple of months for Sandybridge, as it will have the (less than popular) Thunderbolt
__________________
Just Run Pro Tools as a Rewire Slave/Run Parallel.. its easier than you think. Example- RME TotalMix and the IAC Midi Driver
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313749
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2011, 02:07 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,481
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

Hi,

I think this could depend on what you do and which plugins you use to a degree.

As pro tools tracks can only perform its processing on one core (ie not spread the processing across cores) you might benefit from having 8 cores! If you are likely to be using 8 tracks with CPU intensive plugins on each for example youre likely to get better performance.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2011, 02:56 PM
storypod storypod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Maumee, OH USA
Posts: 14
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

Thanks, everybody, all the feedback is very much appreciated. Though it will take me awhile to build up the plug-in library I had in my Mix system, I do tend to use a lot of them. The sessions aren't typically extremely track heavy (usually 16 to 32 tracks). DICCER, the 6-core you mentioned from the business division, was that available 2009, 2010, or both years? There's a Bench Test site I found that tested the performance of lots of Mac Pro's, and (aside from the ridiculous stats of the 12-cores, oh boy) the 2009 8-core scored pretty decent, and used ones seem in a fairly good sweet spot for price. But of course these bench tests don't necessarily apply to the specific needs and idiosyncrasies of PT's cpu usage, so all your pro '2 cents worth' is definitely worth more than mine! Thanks again for any input..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2011, 03:28 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Advice? '09 8-core Mac or '10 quad-core for PT 10 Native?

It's too bad there isn't a guy that lives 4 miles from you with an 8 core Westmere/HD Native rig, who'd let you come over and spend a day messing with his rig.
Hey...wait a minute....
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9129 errors on HD NATIVE MBP QUAD CORE Cryos macOS 3 04-23-2012 06:47 AM
HELP! Mac Pro 2.66 Quad Core or 2.26 8 Core for HD Native/Pro Tools 10 sws2h macOS 1 11-06-2011 04:12 PM
Which Mac Pro for HD Native? 2008 8 Core or 2009 Quad Core? sws2h Pro Tools 10 6 11-03-2011 03:23 PM
Xeon quad core HP with PT9, some advice please Kolya Pro Tools 9 6 07-07-2011 04:42 AM
New Build Help: Q9450 Core 2 Quad Core Machine Advice? GanB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-15-2008 05:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com